BCCI AGM 2022 Meeting: 5 Points From BCCI’s Top Meeting

BCCI Elections 2022

At the Taj Palace hotel in Mumbai, the BCCI AGM has concluded. Roger Binny, a former leader of the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA), has formally taken over as BCCI president in place of Sourav Ganguly. The BCCI Secretary will still be Jay Shah. The BCCI Treasurer has been named Ashish Shelar.

Devajit Saikia will serve as joint secretary, while Rajeev Shukla will serve as vice president. The Women’s IPL, scheduled to take place in March, was also authorized by the general body. Know the 5 major points of BCCI elections 2022. 

BCCI approves Women’s Indian Premier League

The Women’s IPL received the official go-ahead from the BCCI on Tuesday. The 91st Annual General Meeting of BCCI in Mumbai approved the tournament.

Neutral Venue for Asia Cup 2023

India will insist on a neutral location for the Asia Cup, which will be staged in Pakistan the following year. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which held its annual general meeting on Tuesday (October 18) in Mumbai, decided it would not travel to Pakistan for the continental championship and urged that the event be shifted to a neutral location.

Team India is not to travel to Pakistan, Jay Shah confirm

There were concerns over whether the Indian cricket team will travel to the neighboring nation to compete in the event, which was scheduled to take place in Pakistan in 2023. 

Although there were some rumors that the Men in Blue were prepared to visit Pakistan for the Asia Cup the following year, Jay Shah, president of the Asian Cricket Council and secretary of the BCCI, has declared that India will not be visiting their neighboring nation for the Asia Cup in 2023.

“Neutral venue for Asia Cup is not unprecedented and we have decided that we will not travel to Pakistan,” Jay Shah, the secretary of the BCCI and also the president of the ACC, said. “I have decided that we will play at a neutral venue,” Shah said.

Roger Binny will be the new president

At the AGM (Annual General Meeting) held here, Binny, 67, was chosen without opposition alongside Jay Shah, who was re-elected to serve as secretary for a second consecutive term. Vice-President Rajeev Shukla, joint secretary Devjit Saikia, and Treasurer Ashish Shelar were among the other office holders who were unopposedly elected.

Before the ODI World Cup in India the following year, Binny, who represented India in 27 Tests and 72 ODIs, assumes leadership. The International Cricket Council’s presidency, however, was not a topic of conversation (ICC). At the upcoming board meeting in Melbourne, the new ICC chairman will be chosen.

BCCI New Office Bearers:

  • President: Roger Binny (Karnataka)
  • Secretary: Jay Shah (Gujarat)
  • Vice President: Rajeev Shukla (UP)
  • Treasurer: Ashish Shelar (Maharashtra)
  • Joint Secretary: Devajit Saikia (Assam)
  • IPL Chairman: Arun Dhumal (Himachal Pradesh)

Also Read: IPL 2023 Submission List: Date, Time, Location, When & Where To Watch Live Streaming In India, Channel Link