HomeFootballDurand Cup 2022: Why three trophies are...

Durand Cup 2022: Why three trophies are presented to winners?


Asia’s oldest football competition Durand Cup is all set to commence on the 16th of August and a lot of buzzes are being created in the footballing community owing to the popularity of this tournament. FC Goa is the current champion of the Durand Cup and ATK Mohun Bagan and East Bengal have won the Cup on the most number of occasions (16 times). But an interesting fact about the Durand Cup is that the winners are presented with three trophies:

  1. The President’s Cup

The President’s Cup is the trophy that was handed over by the 1st President of India, Dr Rajendra Prasad.

2. The Durand Cup

It is the first original trophy. It has become a rolling trophy since 1965.

3. The Shimla Trophy

It is the trophy that was presented by the people of Shimla first in 1903. It has also become a rolling trophy since the year 1965.

But have you ever wondered why there are 3 trophies for a single event? Well, it is because the tournament had started way before Independence and has a lot of significance in the history and tradition of Indian football. The Durand Cup started way back in 1888 and since then has had 130 editions. Earlier, the viceroys of British India used to hand over the trophies to the winners. Post-Independence, it was the President of India who handed over the trophies till 1982. Post that, this practice was discontinued because of security reasons.

Also Read: Durand Cup 2022 Schedule, Date & Location, Matches, Fixtures, Groups, When & Where to watch Live Streaming; All you need to know

Origin of Durand Cup

The iconic Durand Cup is named after Sir Mortimer Durand, who was a foreign secretary to British India. Initially, the civilians of India were not allowed to take part in this event. It was a tournament preserved only for the officials of the different regiments and departments of the Armed Forces of British India. Later, it was opened to other clubs.

Initially, the British departmental teams used to rule the roost. But gradually, the Indian clubs got into the groove and gave stiff competition to the British clubs.

In 1940, the Mohammedan Sporting team were the first Indian club that won the Cup. They beat Royal Warwickshire Regiment 2-1 in the finals.

Share post:

More like this

SOB-W vs LNS-W, Today Match Prediction, 2nd Match, The Hundred Women, 12th August 2022

Match – Southern Brave vs London Spirit (SOB-W vs LNS-W)Date...

SOB vs LNS Today Match Prediction, The Hundred Men 2022, 12th August 2022

Match – Southern Brave vs London Spirit (SOB vs LNS)Date...

ISL 2022-23: Top 3 signings of Mumbai City FC so far

Mumbai City FC are undoubtedly one of the biggest...

The Hundred Women’s 2022: 3 Indian players set to play in this competition

Following the historic introduction of Women's Twenty20 Cricket at...