IND Vs AUS T20 WC 2022: Tight Slap On BCCI’s Face As Shami Defended 11 Runs In Last Over

IND Vs AUS T20 WC 2022

On Monday, October 17, India defeated Australia by six runs in Brisbane’s opening T20 World Cup warm-up game. Mohammed Shami’s final-over brilliance gave India the victory.

With back-to-back wickets taken at lightning speed, Shami has helped Team India defeat Australia with ease. India won the match with two excellent yorkers. 

Although the outcome is irrelevant, both teams checked off a few boxes. India’s death bowling, which has historically been a weakness, was really effective today. Yes, the warm-up allowed them to explore all of their alternatives, which they would not have in a regular game.

The hard lengths, bouncers, variations, and yorkers—everything connected with death over bowling—were all successfully executed by Bhuvneshwar, Arshdeep, Harshal, and Shami.

Four wickets in the last over

The final over was bowled by Mohammed Shami. In the last over of the warm-up game, Shami, who had been warming the bench for some time, had to defend 11 runs. With 4 wickets, including 2 bowled, 1 caught, and 1 run-out, Shami was able to save 11 runs in the last over.

Runs at Gabba in Brisbane

At The Gabba in Brisbane on Monday, Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav each scored a half-century as India amassed a commanding 186/7 against Australia in the warm-up game. In response, Australia got off to a good start in the run chase thanks to Aaron Finch and Mitch Marsh. 

Before Mitchell Marsh was dismissed by Bhuvneshwar Kumar on 35 in the last over of the powerplay, they had taken Australia past 50 in just five overs. Steven Smith (11) and Glenn Maxwell (23) both threatened to take on the Indian bowling attack. Before being stopped by Yuzvendra Chahal and Bhuvneshwar, respectively.

Teams Squad

India (11 batting, 11 fielding): Rohit Sharma(c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik(w), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda

Australia (Playing XI): Aaron Finch (c), Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Josh Inglis (wk), Pat Cummins, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson

Also Read: IPL 2023: When Is the Date For Auction, Key Updates, Retain & Release Players Details