IND vs NZ T20 Series: New Zealand Squad Announced: Santner To Lead, No Place For Kane Williamson 

    New Zealand T20I Squad

    The three-match T20 series between New Zealand and India will begin on January 27 in Ranchi and be captained by left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner. Ben Lister, a left-arm seamer for the Auckland Aces, was given his first call-up to the national team after making his New Zealand A debut in India late last year.

    Gavin Larsen, the chief selector for the Black Caps, addressed Lister’s selection, noting that the left-arm seamer has taken the most wickets in domestic red-ball and white-ball cricket. Larsen believes his ability to consistently produce swing is a big weapon.

    “Ben has made an exciting impact for Auckland early in his career in red and white ball cricket,” he said in an official press release. “Since his debut in late 2017, he is the Aces’ leading wicket-taker in T20 and List A cricket.

    “His ability to swing the ball considerably as a left-arm is particularly exciting. We all felt for Ben after his tour ended the way it did last year, and it’s a testament to his work ethic that he’s been able to return to domestic cricket so strongly this season.”

    No Kane Williamson in the T20I squad

    Since Kane Williamson decided to resign as T20I captain after the World Cup, his absence from the squad suggests that New Zealand has also made the decision to follow India’s lead and develop a new core in preparation for the 2024 T20 World Cup. Williamson is a member of the ODI team that will face India in three games beginning on January 18. On January 27, the T20I series will start.

    Due to their ongoing injuries, Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, and Ben Sears are not available for selection. Henry Shipley, who made his international debut in the current ODI series against Pakistan, is also a member of the team. Leg-spinning all-rounder Michael Rippon, who made his New Zealand debut in April 2022, has also earned a spot.

    Henry Shipley of the Canterbury Kings, who recently made his international debut during the team’s current ODI Series against Pakistan, is another newcomer. Additionally, leg-spinning all-rounder Michael Rippon makes his first appearance in a New Zealand squad since making his debut against Scotland on the European Tour last year.

    New Zealand T20 squad for the India series:

    Squad: Mitchell Santner (captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner.

    Also Read: IPL 2023 Live Streaming In Bhojpuri: How To Watch In India