Major League Cricket 2023: MI New York Qualify Despite Losing To Seattle Orcas

    Heinrich Klaasen Major League Cricket

    Despite losing the last game by a narrow margin of 2 wickets, MI New York advanced to the next stage of the tournament courtesy their run-rate. San Francisco Unicorns became the 2nd time after Los Angeles Knight Riders, to get eliminated from the Major League Cricket 2023.

    Batting first, MI New York posted a humongous total of 194 runs on the board. Nicholas Pooran once again top-scored for MI New York as he scored 68 runs in just 34 deliveries.

    Pooran’s innings was peppered with 3 fours and 7 sixes and the wicket-keeper batter had a strike-rate of 200.00.

    Imad Wasim and Harmeet Singh bagged 2 wickets each for Seattle Orcas and were the pick of the bowlers for the table-toppers.

    Heinrich Klaasen’s century in the 2nd innings lit up the entire Texas

    South African powerful wicket-keeper batter Heinrich Klaasen lit up the entire sky of Texas after his blistering knock of 110* runs in just 44 balls. Klaasen went bonkers with the bat as he smeared the bowlers all across the park.

    His innings was laced with 9 fours and 7 sixes and it was an epitome of class, perseverance and glitz.

    It was because of Klaasen’s innings that Seattle Orcas managed to gun down the target of 195 runs, set by MI New York. Opener Nauman Anwar scored a brisk half-century and his knock of 51 runs came in 30 deliveries.

    Trent Boult’s inspiring bowling performance went in vain

    The leading wicket-taker of MI New York in this tournament, Trent Boult’s inspiring bowling performance went down the train. His figures of 31/4 went in vain as MI New York ended up being on the losing side.

    Boult’s wickets included Shubham Ranjane, Dwaine Pretorius, Imad Wasim and Harmeet Singh.

    Rashid Khan bagged 2 wickets but was quite expensive with the white-cherry. He conceded 41 runs in his 4 overs, despite having a maiden over under his belt.


    MI New York

    Dewald Brevis, Shayan Jahangir, Tim David, David Wiese, Hammad Azam, Kieron Pollard ©, Steven Taylor, Monank Patel, Nicholas Pooran, Saideep Ganesh, Ehsan Adil, Jason Behrendorff, Jasdeep Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Phillip, Nosthush Kenjige, Rashid Khan, Sarabjit Ladda

    Seattle Orcas

    Nauman Anwar, Quinton de Kock (wk), Cameron Gannon, Shehan Jayasuriya, Aaron Jones, Heinrich Klaasen, Izharulhaq Naveed, Wayne Parnell, Nisarg Patel, Angelo Perera, Shubham Ranjane, Dasun Shanaka, Phani Simhadri, Harmeet Singh, Matthew Tromp, Andrew Tye, Imad Wasim, Shimron Hetmyer, and Dwaine Pretorius

    Also read: WI vs IND: 3 Talking Points From The Test Series