PAK vs NZ: Fakhar Zaman’s Stupendous Century Guides Pakistan To 5-Wicket Victory

    Fakhar Zaman Pakistan

    In the 1st ODI of the ongoing 5-match ODI series between Pakistan and New Zealand, Pakistan registered a 5-wicket victory. Fakhar Zaman starred with the bat and struck a majestic century to take the hosts over the finishing line.

    Batting first, the Kiwis posted 288 runs on the board for the loss of 7 wickets. Daryll Mitchell’s century went in vain as the score eventually didn’t turn out to be enough on the board. Will Young too impressed one and all with his mature knock of 86 runs in just 78 balls.

    Young’s knock was packed with 8 fours and 2 sixes and he had a healthy strike rate of 110.26. Henry Nicholls scored a small cameo of 20* runs in 21 balls and took New Zealand to a challenging total.

    Pakistani pacers shone with the ball

    Haris Rauf, who bowled exceptionally well in the T20I series and picked up 11 wickets, continued his rich vein of form in this 1st ODI. He bagged 2 wickets and his partners in the form of Shaheen Afridi and Naseem Shah too took 2 wickets each.

    Vice-captain of Pakistan Shadab Khan took a wicket and he did not concede a lot of runs in his quota of 10 overs. At the end of the innings, Khan had a good economy of 5.60.

    Pakistani top-order batters set the foundation for the successful chase

    The top 3 of Pakistan scored runs at a good rate and guided Pakistan to this 5-wicket victory over the visitors. Openers Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq scored 117 and 60 runs respectively. Skipper Babar Azam, who came in at number 3, scored 49 runs in 46 balls and was eventually dismissed by Adam Milne.

    Wicket-keeper batter Mohammad Rizwan who looked in stupendous touch in the T20I series scored a quickfire cameo of 42* runs in just 34 balls and he also remained unbeaten in the chase.

    The pick of the bowlers for New Zealand in the 1st ODI was Adam Milne as he bagged 2 wickets and was also extremely economical with the ball.

    Pakistan locks horns with New Zealand in the 2nd ODI on 29th April 2023. The match is slated to commence at 4:00 PM (IST).



    Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Ihsanullah, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood and Usama Mir.

    New Zealand

    Tom Latham(c), Chad Bowes, Cole McConchie, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Henry Shipley, Blair Tickner, Tom Blundell (wk), Benjamin Lister, Adam Milne, James Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi, Will Young.

    Also read: IPL 2023: MS Dhoni Reveals Knock That Boosted His India Career