UAE vs NZ 2nd T20I: UAE Script History As They Notch Up 1st Ever Victory Against New Zealand

    UAE vs NZ 2nd T20I match report

    New Zealand were handed a shocking defeat by UAE as they plunged to their first-ever defeat in 39 matches against a non-Test playing nation. The hosts UAE scripted history at the Dubai International Stadium as they raced towards a 7-wicket victory.

    Batting first, the Kiwis managed to post only 142 runs on the board for the loss of 8 wickets. The batters of New Zealand couldn’t get their bearings right and it was only Mark Chapman, who got a big knock.

    Chapman scored 63 runs in 46 deliveries and his knock was packed with 3 fours and 3 sixes. His knock had a strike-rate of 136.96.

    17-year-old Aayan Afzal Khan was the cynosure of all eyes in the bowling department for UAE. The youngster put on a solid display with the white-cherry and bagged 3 wickets for just 20 runs.

    Muhammad Jawah too played well as he bagged 2 wickets and conceded only 16 runs in his spell of 4 overs. The Kiwi batters perhaps took the UAE bowlers quite lightly as they couldn’t manage to ease past the wave of good performances from the Asian side.

    Skipper Muhammad Waseem led the batting charge for UAE

    Opening the batting, skipper Muhammad Waseem played a mature yet electrifying knock of 55 runs in just 29 balls. After UAE’s other opener Aryansh Sharma was dismissed for a golden duck, Waseem and Vriitya Anand held their innings together.

    Asif Khan, who came in at number 4, performed well and scored 48* runs in just 29 deliveries. His innings was laced with 5 fours and 1 six and he had a blistering strike-rate of 165.52.

    UAE would rejoice in their victory as this is a major achievement for them. As they bask in the glory and euphoria of this historic win, they need to credit their batters and bowlers, who played in tandem.

    The 3-match T20I series between the two nations is now interestingly poised at 1-1. After the Kiwis won the first game, UAE have crept back into the series with this incredible win.

    The decider between the two sides will be played on 20th August 2023 at the same venue. It will be starting at 7:30 PM (IST).


    UAE Squad

    Muhammad Waseem (C), Ali Naseer, Ansh Tandon, Aryansh Sharma, Asif Khan, Aayan Afzal Khan, Basil Hameed, Ethan D’Souza, Faraazuddin, Jash Giyanani, Junaid Siddique, Lovepreet Singh, Mohammad Jawadullah, Sanchit Sharma, Vriitya Aravind and Zahoor Khan.

    New Zealand Squad

    Tim Southee (C), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Lockie Ferguson, Dean Foxcroft, Kyle Jamieson, Cole McConchie, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Henry Shipley, Will Young, Adi Ashok

    Also read: 3 Reasons Why Washington Sundar Can Play A Crucial Role For India In The ICC ODI World Cup 2023