WTC Final Qualification Scenarios: How India Can Still Qualify For WTC Final After 3rd Test Loss, Updated Standings

    WTC Final Qualification Scenarios

    The scenario for the World Test Championship final has changed as a result of India’s loss in the third test of the IND vs AUS BGT Test series. Only three teams—India, Australia, and Sri Lanka—can advance to the WTC championship game.

    In the Border-Gavaskar Trophy series, India was predicted to thrash Australia after winning the first two games. The visitors, however, mounted a fierce comeback in the third test, outperforming the hosts in the Indore Test by chasing a small 76-run target in the fourth innings.

    With a PCT of 69+, Australia now holds the first slot in the WTC points rankings. India now holds the second position in the WTC points table despite a PCT decline to 60. Sri Lanka, which has a PCT of 53.0, is ranked third.

    Will India qualify for the WTC final after the loss? 

    Australia takes the top spot in the WTC standings with a PCT of 69.0 after defeating India in the third Test. The WTC final has been confirmed for Australia. Australia will have a PCT of 65.0 and retain their top spot in the points table even if they lose the fourth Test and go down 3-1 in the series.

    Since Sri Lanka is the only other side still in the running for the summit match in June at the Oval in England, India must win its final game in the series to advance without relying on Sri Lanka’s performance.

    Rohit Sharma’s team will be able to end with a PCT of 62.5 if they win in Ahmedabad. That will be sufficient to stop Sri Lanka from posing a danger. On its upcoming March 9 tour of New Zealand, Sri Lanka can push itself to the best-possible PCT of 61.11.

    India WTC Final Qualification Scenarios

    If India Defeats Australia 3-1

    India will earn a PCT of 63.0 and place second in the points standings if they are able to defeat Australia 3-1 in the Border-Gavaskar series by winning the last Test. Australia’s PCT would therefore fall to 65.0, but by topping the WTC points table, they would still be eligible to compete against India in the championship match.

    Even though Sri Lanka defeated New Zealand 2-0, they would still rank third in the World Team Rankings with a PCT of 61.0, behind Australia and India. India and Australia will both secure their spots in the WTC final with a 3-1 record in their Test series.

    If India Defeats Australia 2-1

    Sri Lanka would have a chance of eliminating India in the WTC final if the fourth Test between India and Australia ends in a draw and the Indian team wins the series 2-1.

    India will therefore need to pray that Sri Lanka does not defeat New Zealand in the Test series by a score of 2-0. In such a scenario, Sri Lanka will overtake India in the WTC points table and move up to second place with a PCT of 61.0.

    If India Tie Series 2-2 Against Australia

    India vs Australia Test series will conclude in a stalemate if Australia once more outperforms India in the last Test. If Sri Lanka defeats New Zealand 2-0 in this situation, they will advance to the WTC championship game.

    However, Sri Lanka cannot move up to the second position in the World Test Championship points table with a 1-0 victory or a 1-1 draw.

    Updated ICC World Test Championship Points Table

    3Sri Lanka1054106453.33
    4South Africa1476108852.38
    7West Indies1246205437.5
    8New Zealand1126303627.27

    Also Read: Will Ben Stokes Play In IPL 2023? England Coach Brendon McCullum Gives Major Update