Major League Cricket 2023: Texas Super Kings Move On Top Of Table With A 17-Run Win Against MI New York


After a loss against Washington Freedom, Texas Super Kings staged a superb comeback in the ongoing Major League Cricket 2023. Faf Du Plessis and co. registered a top-notch 17-run victory and went atop the points table.

Batting first, Faf Du Plessis and his team managed to post only 154 runs on the board. Southpaw opener Devon Conway was the cynosure of all eyes as he scored 74 runs in 55 balls. His innings were laced with 8 fours and 1 six.

None of the other batters of the Texas Super Kings found their bearings right in the game. This was because of some disciplined bowling from the bowlers of MI New York.

Trent Boult and Kagiso Rabada were the star performers for MI New York in the bowling department

Bagging 2 wickets each, world-class bowlers Trent Boult and Kagiso Rabada bowled exceedingly well. While Boult had an economy of 7.2, Rabada had an economy of 7.5.

They picked up important wickets and prevented Texas Super Kings from getting a big score. Perhaps a big moment in the game was the wicket of Dwayne Bravo, who had fired on all cylinders in the previous game of the Texas Super Kings.

MI New York’s top-order provided a slow start

After Monank Patel was dismissed for a duck by Rusty Theron, Shayan Jahangir, and Steven Taylor were entrusted with the responsibility of steering MI New York’s ship away from dangerous waters.

But their partnership was too slow and it dug their own grave. Eventually, the power-hitters of MI New York had too much of a responsibility and they failed to make their team cross the winning line.

Skipper Kieron Pollard was dismissed for a golden duck and that was a big moment in the game.

In the final over, Daniel Sams had 21 runs to defend and in front of him was explosive batter Tim David. But David was dismissed in the very first ball of the over and it was all doom and gloom for MI New York.

Devon Conway was adjudged the player of the match for his scintillating innings that was the cynosure of all eyes.


Texas Super Kings

Faf du Plessis (c), Sami Aslam, Dwayne Bravo, Cody Chetty, Gerald Coetzee, Devon Conway, Milind Kumar, Lahiru Milantha, David Miller, Mohammad Mohsin, Saiteja Mukkamalla, Daniel Sams, Mitchell Santner, Calvin Savage, Zia Shahzad, Cameron Stevenson, and Rusty Theron.

MI New York

Dewald Brevis, Shayan Jahangir, Tim David, David Wiese, Hammad Azam, Kieron Pollard ©, Steven Taylor, Monank Patel, Nicholas Pooran, Saideep Ganesh, Ehsan Adil, Jason Behrendorff, Jasdeep Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Phillip, Nosthush Kenjige, Rashid Khan, Sarabjit Ladda, Trent Boult

Also read: 3 Reasons Why Ravichandran Ashwin Can Finish As The Highest Wicket Taker Of India