Hero Tri-Nation Series 2023: Highlights, Winners, Goal Scorers, Know All

Indian football team

The Hero Tri-Nation Series 2023 was a big successful campaign for the Indian football team. India won both the matches and thereby laid their hands on the prized silverware.

Skipper Sunil Chhetri and his boys firstly defeated Myanmar 1-0 and then capped off their campaign with a dominant 2-0 win over Kyrgyzstan.

Considering the AFC Asian Cup 2023 will be one of the next big tournaments of India, the tournament was a grand success. Head Coach Igor Stimac tried out a few new players in the iconic and prestigious Khuman Lampak Stadium in Imphal and he will be a mighty pleased individual.

A lot of credit must be given to the energetic and enthusiastic crowd at the Khuman Lampak Stadium in Imphal, Manipur. There were 30,000 odd people shouting at the top of their voices and blasting it out with their unconditional and unwavering support.

Igor Stimac had made 6 changes to the side that took the field against Kyrgyzstan, to ensure everyone gets a go in this friendly tournament. And his boys didn’t disappoint him as they played with full fervour, passion and dedication.

The Indian football team after beating a higher ranked Kyrgyzstan team bolstered their confidence levels and they will be up for bigger and more challenging tournaments and matches.

The Hero Super Cup 2023 will be taking place in April in Kerala and the Indian Super League (ISL) and I-League teams will be taking part in it. FC Goa are the defending champions of the Hero Super Cup 2023.

In this article, we take a look at the highlights, winners and goal scorers in the Hero Tri-Nation Series 2023 tournament:


  1. India beat Myanmar 1-0
  2. Myanmar and Kyrgyzstan drew 1-1
  3. India beat Kyrgyzstan 2-0

Goal Scorers

  1. India vs Myanmar- Anirudh Thapa
  2. Myanmar vs Kyrgyzstan- Aung Thu and Zhyrgalbek Kairat
  3. India vs Kyrgyzstan- Sandesh Jhingan and Sunil Chhetri

Award Winners

Player of the tournament: Lallianzuala Chhangte

Best Goalkeeper: Amrinder Singh and Gurpreet Singh Sandhu

Most Goals: Anirudh Thapa, Sunil Chhetri, Sandesh Jhingan, Aung Thu and Zhyrgalbek Kairat (All scored 1 goal each)

Indian football team for Hero Tri-Nation Series 2023

Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Phurba Lachenpa Tempa, Amrinder Singh. Sandesh Jhingan, Roshan Singh, Anwar Ali, Akash Mishra, Chinglensana Konsham, Rahul Bheke, Mehtab Singh, Pritam Kotal, Suresh Wangjam, Rohit Kumar, Anirudh Thapa, Brandon Fernandes, Yasir Mohammad, Ritwik Das, Jeakson Singh, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Bipin Singh, Manvir Singh, Sunil Chhetri (captain), Naorem Mahesh Singh

Also read: Hero Tri-Nation Series 2023: India Eclipse Past Kyrgyzstan 2-0 To Win Tournament