ISL 2022-23: Chennaiyin FC End 8-Match Winless Streak; Win 2-0 Against East Bengal FC

Chennaiyin FC win against East Bengal FC

Chennaiyin FC registered a 2-0 victory over East Bengal FC to remain in the 8th position of the Indian Super League (ISL) 2022-23 points table. Thomas Brdaric’s men thereby completed a double over the Chennai Machans, having previously won in November 2022, 1-0.

Despite not having the services of Petar Sliskovic and Abdenasser El Khayati being substituted because of a hamstring injury well before half-time, Chennaiyin FC registered a fantastic victory and took their points tally to 21 points.

East Bengal FC had 2 solid chances to score in the 1st half, but they could not capitalize on those opportunities.

In the 31st minute of the game, V.P. Suhair’s header went just wide of the far post. Cleiton Silva, Naorem Mahesh Singh, and Jake Jervis were all involved in slick one-touch passes, in what was a beautiful passage of play.

In the 48th minute of the game, East Bengal FC’s Lalchungnunga scored an own goal and that resulted in Chennaiyin FC taking the lead.

Chennaiyin FC dictated terms almost throughout the game, dominating possession and being accurate with their passes.

Thomas Brdaric appreciated the approach of Chennaiyin FC yesterday.

“We had the right approach today. We played fast and kept everything under control and created a lot of opportunities. We were a bit under pressure in today’s match. East Bengal has shown good development in the past. To face them here and win is fully satisfactory,” said the Head Coach of Chennaiyin FC.

Edwin Vanspaul did well to dribble past 3 opposition defenders and passed the ball to Rahim Ali, who dribbled past the keeper and slotted the ball to the back of the net. This was the final nail in the coffin of the Red and Gold Brigade.

We now shift our focus to the next game of ISL 2022-23. Hyderbad FC will be hosting ATK Mohun Bagan at the G.M.C. Balayogi Stadium in Hyderabad, also known as the Gachibowli Stadium.


Chennaiyin FC

Debjit Majumder, Samik Mitra, Devansh Dabas, Lovepreet Singh, Narayan Das, Aakash Sangwan, Bikash Yumnam Vafa Hakhamaneshi, Fallou Diagne, Gurmukh Singh, Md. Sajid Dhot, Ajith Kumar, Monotosh Chakladar, Md. Aqib. Nasser El Khayati, Jiteshwor Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Edwin Vanspaul, Julius Duker, Sajal Bag, Chris White, Mohammed Rafique, Sourav Das, Suhail Pasha Forwards: Ninthoi Meetei, Vincy Barretto, Rahim Ali, Romario Jesuraj, Petar Sliskovic, Kwame Karikari, Prasanth Karuthadathkuni, Jockson Dhas, Senthamizh, Jobby Justin, Gulab Singh, Mohamed Liyaakath.

East Bengal FC

Kamaljit Singh, Suvam Sen, Pritam Kumar Singh, Mohammad Rakip, Sarthak Golui, Pritam Singh, Athul Unnikrishnan, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Iván González, Charalambos Kyriakou, Lalchungnunga, Mobashir Rahman, Souvik Chakrabarti, Alex Lima, Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Aniket Jadhav, Naorem Mahesh Singh, VP Suhair, Sumit Passi, Cleiton Silva, Jake Jervis

Also read: ISL 2022-23: Mumbai City FC Emerge Victorious In Thrilling Goal-Fest Against FC Goa