Super Cup 2024: East Bengal FC End Trophy Drought Of 12 Years; Beat Odisha FC 3-2 In Finals

East Bengal FC Super Cup

East Bengal FC played a terrific brand of football in the finals of the ongoing Super Cup 2024 against Odisha FC and won a trophy at the highest level for the first time in 12 years. The Red and Gold Brigade, led by Carles Cuadrat, lifted the title in front of a sea of passionate East Bengal fans and supporters at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneshwar.

The scoreline led 3-2 in favour of East Bengal FC and it was a fine show of resilience and the never-say-die attitude. East Bengal FC were trailing 0-1 at the stroke of the half-time. They then staged a terrific comeback and had a glorious run.

The scoreline after the completion of the first half read 1-0 in favour of the Juggernauts. Diego Mauricio, the goal-machine of Odisha FC had netted the goal for them. East Bengal FC broke the back of Odisha’s lead with a goal from Nandha Kumar in the 51st minute.

Saul Crespo then scored a goal in the 62nd minute of the game and brought Odisha back in the lead. After Cleiton’s Silva’s penalty goal and then Odisha FC’s comeback through Ahmed Jahuoh made the match come into an even ground.

Cleiton Silva then scored the goal in the 111th minute of the game and helped Carles Cuadrat and co. win a trophy at the highest level for the first time since 2012.

East Bengal FC had defeated Dempo FC in Siliguri in the Federation Cup finals in 2012. It was their last major trophy.

It also ensures a place for East Bengal FC in the preliminary stage of the AFC Champions League 2.

Awards given in the Super Cup 2024

The best defender of the tournament award went to Hijazi Maher, who is a Jordanian defender from East Bengal FC. Lalthuammawia Ralte of Odisha FC bagged the award for the Best Goalkeeper of the tournament award.

Ahmed Jahouh of Odisha FC won the award for the Best Midfielder. Cleiton Silva won the award for the Most Number of Goals in the tournament with 5 goals to his name.

Also read: Cristiano Ronaldo Reportedly Unhappy With Al-Nassr Organisers After Failed China Tour