IPL 2023: CSK vs MI Head-to-Head Records In IPL

CSK vs MI Head-to-Head Records

On May 6, Saturday, Mumbai Indians will take on their arch-rivals, Chennai Super Kings, in the 49th match of the Indian Premier League 2023 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. 

This will be the second time these two giants meet in this year’s IPL, with their previous encounter taking place in Match No. 12 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. In that match, MI batted first and could only manage a total of 157/8 in their 20 overs. 

CSK spinner Ravindra Jadeja was the standout performer with a spell of 3/20 (4). Chasing the target, CSK’s Ajinkya Rahane played a blistering knock of 61 (27), while Ruturaj Gaikwad remained unbeaten on 40. 

Shivam Dube and Ambati Rayudu also contributed with scores of 28 and 20 runs respectively, as CSK achieved the target in 18.1 overs, winning the match by seven wickets. Check complete details on CSK vs MI head-to-head records.

Chennai Super Kings

After a rain-shortened match at Lucknow that resulted in a washout, Chennai Super Kings will be entering the game having lost their previous match to Punjab Kings and failing to hold a 200-point advantage at home. They are third on the points table with five victories and one NRR in ten games.

CSK has done admirably as a team throughout this competition and is one of the favourites to secure a spot in the playoffs. After the unexpected home setback, CSK will want to resume its winning ways.

Mumbai Indians

On the other hand, the Mumbai Indians will be entering the match after two consecutive record chases against the Punjab Kings and Rajasthan Royals in Mohali and Mumbai, respectively. Due to a subpar run rate, they are ranked sixth in the IPL standings with five victories in nine games.

Suryakumar Yadav put on a masterclass in the last three games, scoring back-to-back half-centuries to regain his form following a string of failures. MI would try to continue its winning streak.

Head-to-Head IPL 2023 Record of CSK vs MI

The IPL has thus far featured 35 matches between the two teams. While CSK won 15 of these games, MI was successful in winning 20 of them. 

Total – 35

CSK – 15

MI – 20

List of matches played between CSK and MI since IPL 2008

2023 IPLMumbaiCSK7 Wickets
2022 IPLMumbaiMI5 Wickets
2022 IPLNavi MumbaiCSK3 Wickets
2021 IPLDubaiCSK20 runs
2021 IPLDelhiMI4 Wickets
2020 IPLAbu DhabiCSK5 Wickets
2020 IPLSharjahMI10 Wickets
2019 IPLMumbaiMI37 runs
2019 IPLChennaiMI46 runs
2019 IPLChennaiMI6 Wickets
2019 IPLHyderabadMI1 Run
2018 IPLMumbaiCSK1 wicket
2018 IPLPuneMI8 wickets
2015 IPLMumbaiCSK6 wickets
2015 IPLChennaiMI6 wickets
2015 IPLMumbaiMI25 runs
2015 IPLKolkataMI41 runs
2014 IPLDubaiCSK7 wickets
2014 IPLMumbaiCSK4 wickets
2014 IPLMumbaiCSK7 wickets
2013 IPLChennaiMI9 runs
2013 IPLMumbaiMI60 runs
2013 IPLDelhiCSK48 runs
2013 IPLKolkataMI23 runs
2012 IPLChennaiMI8 wickets
2012 IPLMumbaiMI2 wickets
2012 IPLBangaloreCSK38 runs
2011 IPLMumbaiMI8 runs
2010 IPLMumbaiMI5 wickets
2010 IPLChennaiCSK24 runs
2010 IPLNavi MumbaiCSK22 runs
2009 IPLCape TownMI19 runs
2009 IPLPort ElizabethCSK7 wickets
2008 IPLChennaiCSK6 runs
2008 IPLMumbaiMI9 wickets

Most runs in CSK vs MI fixtures

Suresh Raina (CSK) – 710 runs 

Most wickets in CSK vs MI fixtures

Dwayne Bravo (CSK) – 35 wickets


Chennai Super Kings Squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni(w/c), Deepak Chahar, Matheesha Pathirana, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana, Ambati Rayudu, Mitchell Santner, Subhranshu Senapati, Shaik Rasheed, Akash Singh, Dwaine Pretorius, RS Hangargekar, Sisanda Magala, Ajay Jadav Mandal, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, Bhagath Varma, Nishant Sindhu

Mumbai Indians Squad: Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Cameron Green, Tilak Varma, Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Jofra Archer, Piyush Chawla, Kumar Kartikeya, Akash Madhwal, Arshad Khan, Suryakumar Yadav, Jason Behrendorff, Sandeep Warrier, Vishnu Vinod, Riley Meredith, Ramandeep Singh, Shams Mulani, Arjun Tendulkar, Hrithik Shokeen, Duan Jansen, Tristan Stubbs, Dewald Brevis, Raghav Goyal

Also Read: IPL 2023: 3 Players Who Can Replace KL Rahul In The Opening Slot Of Lucknow Super Giants