IPL 2023: MI vs RCB Head-to-Head Records In IPL

MI vs RCB Head-to-Head Records

On Tuesday, May 9, at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium, match 54 of the ongoing IPL 2023 will pit the Mumbai Indians (MI) against the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). 

Both MI and RCB sides will want to maintain their chances of making the playoffs as MI under Rohit Sharma and RCB under Faf Du Plessis will try to recover from their recent defeats by the Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Capitals, respectively.

Mi and RCB have faced each other nine times at Wankhede Stadium. While RCB won three of those games, MI won six of them. In the reverse fixture, at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, RCB defeated MI by eight wickets. Check complete details on MI vs RCB head-to-head records. 

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians will enter the match having suffered a defeat to Chennai Super Kings in their last match. MI is presently ranked sixth in the IPL 2023 points table with a net run rate (NRR) of -0.454, having won five and lost five of their ten games.   

With 293 runs scored in 10 games at an average of 29.30 and a remarkable strike rate of 175.44, Suryakumar Yadav is leading the MI batting order. In their forthcoming match against RCB, MI will try to get back to winning ways. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore

After losing to Delhi Capitals in their previous game, Royal Challengers Bangalore will enter this match. With a net run rate (NRR) of -0.209, RCB are presently ranked fifth in the IPL 2023 points table after playing ten games in which they have won five and lost five.

The go-to batter for RCB has been Faf du Plessis, who has amassed 511 runs in 10 games at an impressive average of 56.77 and a fantastic strike rate of 157.71. When they play MI in their next match, RCB will likewise try to get back to winning ways. 

Head-to-Head IPL 2023 Record of MI vs RCB

In the 31 IPL matchups between MI and RCB, Mumbai has prevailed 17 times, while RCB has won 14.

Total – 31

MI – 17

RCB – 14

List of matches played between MI and RCB since IPL 2008

DateWinnerWon ByVenue
2-Apr-2023Royal Challengers Bangalore8 WicketsBengaluru
9-Apr-2022Royal Challengers Bangalore7 WicketsPune
26-Sept-2021Royal Challengers Bangalore54 RunsDubai
9-Apr-2021Royal Challengers Bangalore2 WicketsChennai
28-Oct-2020Mumbai Indians5 WicketsAbu Dhabi
28-Sep-2020Royal Challengers BangaloreSuper OverDubai
15-Apr-2019Mumbai Indians5 WicketsMumbai
28-Mar-2019Mumbai Indians6 RunsBengaluru
1-May-2018Royal Challengers Bangalore14 RunsBengaluru
17-Apr-2018Mumbai Indians46 RunsMumbai
14-April-2017Mumbai Indians4 WicketsBengaluru
01-Apr-2017Mumbai Indians5 WicketsMumbai
11-May-2016Mumbai Indians6 WicketsBengaluru
20-Apr-2016Mumbai Indians6 WicketsMumbai
10-May-2015Royal Challengers Bangalore39 RunsMumbai
19-Apr-2015Mumbai Indians18 RunsBengaluru
6-May-2014Mumbai Indians19 RunsMumbai
19-Apr-2014Royal Challengers Bangalore7 WicketsDubai
27-April-2013Mumbai Indians58 RunsMumbai
4-Apr-2013Royal Challengers Bangalore2 RunsBengaluru
14-May-2012Mumbai Indians5 WicketsBengaluru
09-May-2012Royal Challengers Bangalore9 WicketsMumbai
27-May-2011Royal Challengers Bangalore43 RunsChennai
12-Apr-2011Mumbai Indians9 WicketsBengaluru
21-April-2010Mumbai Indians35 RunsMumbai (DY)
17-April-2010Mumbai Indians57 RunsBengaluru
20-Mar-2010Royal Challengers Bangalore7 WicketsMumbai (BS)
10-May-2009Mumbai Indians16 RunsPort Elizabeth
3-May-2009Royal Challengers Bangalore9 WicketsJohannesburg
28-May-2008Mumbai Indians9 WicketsBengaluru
20-April-2008Royal Challengers Bangalore5 WicketsMumbai

Most runs in MI vs RCB fixtures

Virat Kohli (RCB) – 769 runs 

Most wickets in MI vs RCB fixtures

Jasprit Bumrah (MI) – 24 wickets


Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad: Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis(c), Anuj Rawat, Glenn Maxwell, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik(w), Kedar Jadhav, Wanindu Hasaranga, Karn Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Josh Hazlewood, Harshal Patel, Suyash Prabhudessai, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Michael Bracewell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Akash Deep, Rajan Kumar, Avinash Singh, Himanshu Sharma, Manoj Bhandage, Wayne Parnell, Sonu Yadav, Finn Allen, Siddarth Kaul

Mumbai Indians Squad: Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tristan Stubbs, Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Jofra Archer, Piyush Chawla, Akash Madhwal, Arshad Khan, Kumar Kartikeya, Ramandeep Singh, Dewald Brevis, Raghav Goyal, Vishnu Vinod, Riley Meredith, Shams Mulani, Arjun Tendulkar, Tilak Varma, Hrithik Shokeen, Duan Jansen, Sandeep Warrier, Jason Behrendorff

Also Read: IPL 2023: Sunrisers Hyderabad Stage Epic Comeback To Secure Thrilling Last-Ball Victory Over Rajasthan Royals