IPL Head to Head

IPL 2023: PBKS vs KKR Head-to-Head Records | Know Before the Match

Published by

Both Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are owned by Bollywood actors and there is always a glamour and a glitz factor associated with these teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

While Shah Rukh Khan’s KKR have won the IPL on 2 occasions, Preity Zinta’s Punjab hasn’t been able to win the IPL on a single occasion so far. They have reached the finals once in 2014 and they went down against KKR itself.

Perhaps the most important match of all time between these two sides in the IPL was the IPL 2014 final. Manish Pandey activated his beast mode as we saw him single-handedly win the game for Kolkata Knight Riders.

Pandey had scored 94 runs in 50 balls and was awarded with the player of the match award.

Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings had a major rejig in their think-tank. While they roped in Trevor Bayliss as the new Head Coach, replacing Anil Kumble, they also changed their skipper.

Former skipper Mayank Agarwal was let go and Indian veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan has been named as the skipper of the side in IPL 2023.

The Punjab side has one of the most balanced sides in IPL 2023 and boast of some formidable names. They were however dealt with a major blow as their star opener Jonny Bairstow ruled himself out of IPL 2023. All-rounder Matthew Short was named as his replacement.

Come IPL 2023 and Punjab Kings would be hoping that their star signing of Sam Curran for a whopping sum of Rs. 18.50 crores, delivers the goods for the franchise. Notably, this is the highest ever sum given to a player in the IPL.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders will be opening their IPL 2023 season against Punjab Kings itself. The match will be played on 1st April, at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali. The match is slated to begin from 7:30 PM (IST).

The franchise suffered a huge blow when their skipper and best batter Shreyas Iyer was ruled out of IPL 2023 (he might come back for a few matches) because of a back problem. KKR then named Nitish Rana as the skipper, who has been associated with the franchise since 2018.

KKR have a few new faces in the camp in the form of Lockie Ferguson, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shakib Al Hasan and Litton Das.

Head-to-Head IPL 2023 Record of PBKS vs KKR

KKR share a comfortable lead over their rivals Punjab Kings in the head-to-head. They have played a total of 30 games with each other and Punjab Kings would be hoping to cut back on the deficit in IPL 2023.

Total: 30

PBKS: 10

KKR: 20

List of matches played between PBKS and KKR since IPL 2008

01-Apr-2022Kolkata6 wicketsMumbai
01-Oct-2021Punjab5 WicketsDubai
26-Apr-2021Kolkata5 WicketsAhmedabad
26-Oct-2020Punjab8 WicketsSharjah
10-Oct-2020Kolkata2 RunsAbu Dhabi
3-May-2019Kolkata7 WicketsMohali
27-Mar-2019Kolkata28 RunsKolkata
12-May-2018Kolkata31 RunsIndore
21-Apr-2018Punjab9 WicketsKolkata
9-May-2017Punjab14 RunsMohali
13-Apr-2017Kolkata8 WicketsKolkata
4-May-2016Kolkata7 RunsKolkata
19-Apr-2016Kolkata6 WicketsMohali
9-May-2015Kolkata1 WicketKolkata
18-Apr-2015Kolkata4 WicketsPune
1-Jun-2014Kolkata3 WicketsBangalore
28-May-2014Kolkata28 RunsKolkata
11-May-2014Kolkata9 WicketsCuttack
26-Apr-2014Punjab23 RunsAbu Dhabi
26-Apr-2013Kolkata6 WicketsKolkata
16-Apr-2013Punjab4 RunsMohali
18-Apr-2012Kolkata8 WicketsMohali
15-Apr-2012Punjab2 RunsKolkata
30-Apr-2011Kolkata8 WicketsKolkata
4-Apr-2010Punjab8 WicketsKolkata
27-Mar-2010Kolkata39 RunsMohali
3-May-2009Punjab6 WicketsPort Elizabeth
21-Apr-2009Kolkata11 RunsDurban
25-May-2008Kolkata3 WicketsKolkata
3-May-2008Punjab9 RunsMohali

Most runs in PBKS vs KKR fixtures

Gautam Gambhir (KKR)- 492 runs

Most wickets in PBKS vs KKR fixtures

Sunil Narine (KKR)- 32 wickets


Punjab Kings

Shikhar Dhawan (c), Shahrukh Khan, Matthew Short, Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma, Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Atharva Taide, Arshdeep Singh, Baltej Singh, Nathan Ellis, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar, Sam Curran, Sikandar Raza, Harpreet Bhatia, Vidwath Kaverappa, Mohit Rathee, Shivam Singh.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Nitish Rana (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Venkatesh Iyer, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Lockie Ferguson, Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakravarthy, Anukul Roy, Rinku Singh, N. Jagadeesan, Vaibhav Arora, Suyash Sharma, David Wiese, Kulwant Khejroliya, Litton Das, Mandeep Singh, Shakib Al Hasan.

Also read: IPL 2023: 3 Reasons Why Shardul Thakur Might Have A Stellar Season For KKR

Sayanta Sengupta

An out-an-out sports nut, I live and breathe sports, Find me anchoring and presenting about sports if not sweating it out on the cricket field. Coffee and travel lover! :D

Recent Posts

Free Fire MAX Emote Party Event: How To Get Free Rewards

The new event in Free Fire MAX is called Emote Party and it is all…

June 4, 2023

League Of Legends Pride 2023 Details, Rewards, And More

Riot Games has added an enormous number of items across all of its video game…

June 4, 2023

BGMI: Rising Tournament Grand Finals Participating Teams, Map Rotation, Prize Money

The final day of the BGMI: Rising is here! The competition began on June 1…

June 4, 2023

BGMI: Rising Tournament Semi-finals Results, Rankings, Highlights

The top 16 teams of the BGMI: Rising Launch Party tournaments have qualified for the…

June 4, 2023

Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan, 2nd ODI: SL vs AFG Head to Head Records In ODI History

Sri Lanka and Afghanistan are set to clash once again in the second match of…

June 3, 2023

SL vs AFG Dream11 Prediction, Top Fantasy Picks, Player Availability News, 2nd ODI, 4th June 2023

Welcome to SL vs AFG Dream11 Prediction for Today’s Match Fantasy Cricket Tips.  On Sunday,…

June 3, 2023