IPL 2024: KKR vs MI Head-to-Head Records In IPL

KKR vs MI head to head

The IPL 2024 season has witnessed some exhilarating cricketing action, with teams vying for supremacy in the league. 

One of the most anticipated clashes in the IPL is between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Mumbai Indians (MI), two teams known for their fierce rivalry and competitive spirit. 

As they gear up to face each other once again, let’s take a detailed look at their head-to-head records in the IPL so far.

Kolkata Knight Riders:

The table topper KKR has displayed commendable performances in the IPL 2024 season. With a balanced squad comprising both seasoned veterans and emerging talents, KKR has showcased its prowess in all aspects of the game.

The batting lineup of KKR has been firing on all cylinders, with players like Sunil Narine, Phil Salt, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Shreyas Iyer, and Andre Russell consistently delivering impactful performances. 

Narine’s explosive batting at the top, complemented by the solidity of Salt and the flair of Raghuvanshi and Russell in the middle order, has provided KKR with stability and firepower.

On the bowling front, KKR boasts a formidable unit spearheaded by the experienced campaigner Sunil Narine. 

With Mitchell Starc, Varun Chakravarthy, and Harshit Rana, KKR’s bowling attack has been effective. 

Mumbai Indians:

Mumbai Indians took down Sunrisers Hyderabad at home, after a big partnership from Suryakumar Yadav and Tilak Varma, with the Suryakumar scoring yet another hundred in the IPL. 

But, the MI bowlers set up the win for the team, including the captain Hardik Pandya and Piyush Chawla picking up three wickets each with the MI all-rounder bowling quite economically too.

MI’s batting lineup, led by the likes of Suryakumar Yadav and Tilak Varma, has shown glimpses of their potential. SKY’s consistent performances with the bat, including a notable century, have been a highlight for MI. However, the team has struggled with consistency, with other key batsmen failing to fire consistently.

KKR vs MI Head-to-Head Record:

In the history of the IPL, KKR and MI have faced each other in a total of 33 matches. Out of these, MI has dominated the rivalry, emerging victorious on 23 occasions, while KKR has managed to win 10 matches. 

Total – 33

KKR – 10

MI – 23

No Result – 0

List of matches played between KKR and MI since IPL 2008

DateWinnerWon ByVenue
03-May-2024Kolkata Knight Riders24 runsMumbai
16-Apr-2023Mumbai Indians5 wicketsMumbai
9-May-2022Kolkata Knight Riders52 runsMumbai
6-April-2022Kolkata Knight Riders5 wicketsPune
23-Sept-2021Kolkata Knight Riders7 WicketsAbu Dhabi
13-Apr-2021Mumbai Indians8 RunsChennai
16-Oct-2020Mumbai Indians8 WicketsAbu Dhabi
23-Sep-2020Mumbai Indians49 RunsAbu Dhabi
5-May-2019Mumbai Indians9 WicketsMumbai
28-Apr-2019Kolkata Knight Riders34 RunsKolkata
9-May-2018Mumbai Indians102 RunsKolkata
6-May-2018Mumbai Indians13 RunsMumbai
19-May-2017Mumbai Indians7 WicketsBengaluru
13-May-2017Mumbai Indians9 RunsKolkata
9-Apr-2017Mumbai Indians4 WicketsMumbai
28-April-2016Mumbai Indians6 WicketsMumbai
13-April-2016Mumbai Indians6 WicketsKolkata
14-May-2015Mumbai Indians5 RunsMumbai
8-April-2015Kolkata Knight Riders7 WicketsKolkata
16-May-2014Kolkata Knight Riders41 RunsAbu Dhabi
14-May-2014Kolkata Knight Riders6 WicketsCuttack
7-May-2013Mumbai Indians65 RunsMumbai
24-April-2013Mumbai Indians5 WicketsKolkata
16-May-2012Kolkata Knight Riders32 RunsMumbai
12-May-2012Mumbai Indians27 RunsKolkata
25-May-2011Mumbai Indians4 WicketsMumbai
22-May-2011Mumbai Indians5 WicketsKolkata
19-Apr-2010Kolkata Knight Riders9 WicketsKolkata
22-Mar-2010Mumbai Indians7 WicketsMumbai (BS)
1-May-2009Mumbai Indians9 RunsEast London
27-Apr-2009Mumbai Indians92 RunsPort Elizabeth
16-May-2008Mumbai Indians8 WicketsMumbai
29-April-2008Mumbai Indians7 WicketsKolkata

IPL 2024: Most runs in KKR vs MI fixtures

Rohit Sharma (MI) – 935 runs 

IPL 2024: Most wickets in KKR vs MI fixtures

Sunil Narine (KKR) – 25 wickets

KKR vs MI: Complete Squad

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shreyas Iyer (c), Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Phil Salt, Sunil Narine, Suyash Sharma, Anukul Roy, Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer, Harshit Rana, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakaravarthy, KS Bharat, Chetan Sakariya, Mitchell Starc, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Ramandeep Singh, Sherfane Rutherford, Manish Pandey, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Dushmantha Chameera, Sakib Hussain. Players injured/withdrawn: Jason Roy, Gus Atkinson.

Mumbai Indians: Hardik Pandya (c), Rohit Sharma, Dewald Brevis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, N. Tilak Varma, Tim David, Vishnu Vinod, Arjun Tendulkar, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadhera, Jasprit Bumrah, Kumar Kartikeya, Piyush Chawla, Akash Madhwal, Luke Wood, Romario Shepherd, Gerald Coetzee, Shreyas Gopal, Nuwan Thushara, Naman Dhir, Anshul Kamboj, Mohammad Nabi, Shivalik Sharma, Kwena Maphaka.