IPL 2023 Records: From Chris Gayle To AB de Villiers, Check Top 5 Fastest Centuries In IPL History

IPL 2023 Records

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most popular sports leagues in the world.

The IPL has been a major success since its inception in 2008 and has become one of the most-watched sporting events in the world. 

IPL 2023 is set to be the biggest tournament yet, and many records are expected to be broken.

The tournament has seen some amazing records set by some of the best players in the world.

One of the most impressive records in IPL history is the fastest century. 

All these players are legends in the IPL and have set the benchmark for future generations.

IPL 2023 promises to be an exciting tournament with plenty of records to be broken.

Here are the top 5 fastest centuries in IPL history.

Chris Gayle – 30 balls

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle decided to wreck havoc on the Pune bowlers on a great Bangalore night by slamming a century off just 30 balls, which is still the fastest century in IPL history as well as T20 cricket.

Chris Gayle, called The Universe Boss, currently holds the IPL record for the fastest century.

He thrashed the Pune Warriors of India in 2013 using just 30 balls to accomplish the feat.

Gayle claimed the record for the quickest century in IPL history in an inning.

Gayle set an IPL record as he completed on an unbeaten 175* from 66 balls.

His innings, which saw RCB blast to 263/5, the biggest total in IPL history, were peppered with 13 fours and 17 sixes.

Yusuf Pathan – 37 balls

Yusuf Pathan
Yusuf Pathan

Yusuf Pathan, who almost single-handedly completed a 200+ run chase against the Mumbai Indians in 2010, holds the record for the second-fastest IPL century.

Pathan was run out with Rajasthan requiring 40 runs from the final three overs after entering at 40-3 after 6.1 overs and hitting eight sixes and nine fours.

They only lost the game by four runs in the end.

David Miller – 38 balls

David Miller
David Miller

With a 38-ball century against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2013, David Miller is third on the list.

The knock indicated Killer Miller’s arrival. With Kings XI Punjab needing 140 runs in 12.2 overs, he entered the batting order.

They completed the chase with two over left because of his dominance that evening.

Adam Gilchrist – 42 balls

Adam Gilchrist
Adam Gilchrist

One of the greatest wicket-keeper batsmen in the history of the game is without a doubt, Adam Gilchrist.

There are very few players who can even come close to his unmatched ability to strike the ball when it is in play.

Mumbai Indians had stumbled to 154/7 in Match 14 of the inaugural season while batting first.

In order to reach his century—the fourth-fastest in the IPL—Gilchrist blasted the Mumbai bowlers to every little space of the park while his team was chasing 155.

The left-handed batsman had nine fours and ten sixes throughout his innings, which helped Deccan Chargers win by 10 wickets with eight overs left to play. 

AB de Villiers and David Warner – 43 balls

AB de Villiers and David Warner
AB de Villiers and David Warner

The fifth-fastest IPL century was achieved by AB de Villiers and David Warner, who each needed 43 balls to reach the three-figure mark.

AB de Villiers reached the milestone in 2016 against the Gujarat Lions.

He played flawlessly that day and blazed his way to a staggering century. RCB defeated Gujarat with ease in the game.

On the other hand, after batting first in a 2017 match against Kolkata Knight Riders, Warner hit 126 off 59 balls.

He led his team to a final score of 209-3, which was more than enough because KKR fell 48 runs short of their target.

He smashed ten fours and eight sixes in the innings.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Tickets Booking: How To Book, Check Tickets Availability Of CSK, MI, RCB, DC, All 10 Teams