IPL 2023: Rohit Sharma Creates Bizarre Record After Getting Out For Duck In PBKS vs MI Game

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma has been in terrible form in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. The Mumbai Indians (MI) and the Indian cricket team captain has failed to get his bearings right in IPL 2023 in any match.

In Match 46 of the ongoing IPL between MI and Punjab Kings (PBKS), Sharma got out for a duck. He faced 3 balls and was eventually dismissed by Rishi Dhawan.

With this duck, Rohit Sharma now joins the list of most ducks logged by a player in IPL. The list also includes top cricketers such as Dinesh Karthik, Sunil Narine and Mandeep Singh. All of them have 15 ducks and now the MI skipper too has 15 ducks under his belt.

Batting up front in MI’s 200th game and his 236th game in the high-profile IPL, everyone expected Rohit to get a few runs under his belt. Mumbai Indians were chasing a humongous total of 215 runs and they needed a strong start.

Mumbai Indians successfully chased down their 2nd 200+ total on the trot

The 5-time champions relied on Ishan Kishan and Surya Kumar Yadav’s blistering innings to chase down the huge total with utmost ease. Kishan blasted his way towards 75 runs in 41 balls and earned the player of the match award too.

Surya Kumar Yadav activated his beast mode and scored runs all across the park. The number 1 T20I batter scored 66 runs in just 31 balls and his innings was laced with 8 fours and 3 sixes. Surya had a superb strike-rate of 212.90 and he was firing on all cylinders.

In the previous game against Rajasthan Royals (RR), MI became the first team to chase down 213 runs at the Wankhede Stadium. Tim David smashed 3 sixes in 3 balls in the opening 3 balls of the final over to take them over the line.

With several in-form players, Mumbai Indians could potentially be a very dangerous team. They are presently in the 6th position in the IPL 2023 points table, with 5 wins and 4 losses under their belt.

Mumbai Indians Squad For IPL 2023

Rohit Sharma (c), Tim David, Ramandeep Singh, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Tristan Stubbs, Dewald Brevis, Jofra Archer, Sandeep Warrier, Arjun Tendulkar, Arshad Khan, Kumar Kartikeya, Hrithik Shokeen, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal, Cameron Green, Jhye Richardson, Piyush Chawla, Duan Jansen, Vishnu Vinod, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadhera, Raghav Goyal.

Also read: WTC Final 2023: 3 Reasons Why Ajinkya Rahane Could Have A Good Game Vs Australia