IPL 2023: Virender Sehwag Lashes Out At Prithvi Shaw For Back-To-Back Failures

Prithvi Shaw

Prithvi Shaw is having a hard time in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. In both the first two matches of Delhi Capitals (DC), Shaw failed miserably and has not been able to get his bearings right.

Now, former Indian opener and present cricket expert Virender Sehwag has lashed out at the young opener for not being able to learn from his mistakes.

“He has been dismissed playing those kinds of shots so many times… but he should also learn from his mistakes, right?

Look at Shubman Gill, who played U-19 cricket with him and is now playing Test, ODIs and T20Is for India, but Shaw is still struggling in IPL. He has to make the most of this IPL platform and score runs,” said Sehwag in a show with CricBuzz.

Sehwag then drew comparison of Shaw with Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill as well. Notably, Gaikwad has previously won the Orange Cap in IPL 2021 and is presently leading the batting charts in IPL 2023 with two classy knock in the first two games for Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

“Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 600 odd runs in an IPL season. Shubman Gill also scored big runs. So even Shaw has to be consistent with his IPL scores,” said the 2011 World Cup winner.

Delhi Capitals have lost both their opening games

After losing to Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in their season opener, Delhi have now lost their 2nd game against the defending champions, Gujarat Titans (GT).

Chasing a modest total of 163 runs, Gujarat rode on the back of a sublime half-century from Sai Sudarshan. Sudarshan mustered 62* runs in just 48 deliveries and his knock was packed with 4 fours and 2 sixes.

Skipper David Warner of Delhi Capitals scored 37 runs and it was the highest score for the side. Prithvi Shaw managed to score only 7 runs in 5 balls. In the previous game against LSG, Shaw scored 12 runs in 9 balls and was cleaned up completely by LSG quick bowler Mark Wood.

Delhi Capitals next lock horns with Rajasthan Royals (RR) and the match will be played on 8th April 2023.

IPL 2023: DC Full Squad

David Warner (c), Prithvi Shaw, Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell, Phil Salt, Mukesh Kumar, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Mitchell Marsh, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Anrich Nortje, Manish Pandey, Rilee Rossouw, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Praveen Dubey, Vicky Ostwal.

Also read: IPL 2023: 3 Reasons Why Dinesh Karthik Might Once Again Have A Blistering Season