Arjuna Awards Winners 2023: Mohammed Shami Is Now Arjuna Awardee, Full List Here

Arjuna Awards Winners List 2023

In a ceremony marked by prestige and accomplishment, the nation gathered on January 9, 2024, to witness the Arjuna Awards for the year 2023. 

Droupadi Murmu, the President of India, graced the occasion to bestow the honors upon a remarkable assembly of 26 outstanding sportspersons, each having left an indelible mark on their respective fields.

The highlight of the awards was the astounding success of Indian athletes at the Asian Games 2023, where the nation scripted history by securing over 100 medals in a single edition of the event. 

The Arjuna Awards, a testament to their hard work and dedication, recognised these athletes for their exceptional contributions to the world of sports. Check the full list of Arjuna Awards Winners in 2023. 

Cricket Brilliance: Mohammed Shami’s Wicket-Taking Prowess Acknowledged

Mohammed Shami received the Arjuna Award for his exceptional performance during the World Cup 2023. Shami’s prowess as the leading wicket-taker was instrumental in India’s journey to the final, where they valiantly faced Australia in a hard-fought battle.

Paralympic Glory: Sheetal Devi’s Triumph in Para Games

Adding a touch of inspiration to the ceremony was Sheetal Devi, the world’s first armless woman archer. Her extraordinary achievements in the Para Games in Hangzhou, where she clinched three medals, stood as a testament to her resilience and determination.

Shooting Stars: Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar and Esha Singh Shine Bright

Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar and Esha Singh, instrumental in India’s spectacular performance in shooting at the Asian Games 2023, were rightfully acknowledged with the Arjuna Award. Their combined efforts contributed significantly to India’s impressive tally of 22 medals in the discipline.

Chess Maestro: R Vaishali Among the Honorees

The list also featured R Vaishali, showcasing the diversity of sports represented. As the sister of the prodigious 18-year-old chess player Rameshbabu Praggnanandhaa, Vaishali’s inclusion highlighted the depth of talent within Indian sports.

Versatility on Display: Ayhika Mukherjee and Naorem Roshibina Devi Recognized

Ayhika Mukherjee, who secured the bronze medal in women’s doubles alongside Sutirtha Mukherjee, and Naorem Roshibina Devi, the silver medalist in Hangzhou, added further dimensions to the varied accomplishments celebrated during the ceremony.

Full List of Arjuna Award winners 2023

Ms Aditi Gopichand SwamiArchery
Shri Ojas Pravin DeotaleArchery
Shri Sreeshankar MuraliAthletics
Ms Parul ChaudharyAthletics
Shri Mohameed HussamuddinBoxing
Ms R VaishaliChess
Shri Mohammed ShamiCricket
Shri Anush AgarwallaEquestrian
Ms Divyakriti SinghEquestrian Dressage
Ms Diksha DagarGolf
Shri Krishan Bahadur PathakHockey
Ms Pukhrambam Sushila ChanuHockey
Shri Pawan KumarKabaddi
Ms Ritu NegiKabaddi
Ms NasreenKho-Kho
Ms PinkiLawn Bowls
Shri Aishwary Pratap Singh TomarShooting
Ms Esha SinghShooting
Shri Harinder Pal Singh SandhuSquash
Ms Ayhika MukherjeeTable Tennis
Shri Sunil KumarWrestling
Ms Antim PanghalWrestling
Ms Naorem Roshibina DeviWushu
Ms Sheetal DeviPara Archery
Shri Illuri Ajay Kumar ReddyBlind Cricket
Para CanoeingMs Prachi Yadav

Also Read: SUNE vs JSK, Today Match Prediction, Match 1, SA20 League 2024, Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs Johannesburg Super Kings, 10th January 2024