Cricket West Indies Names 14 Member Test Team for England Tour

Cricket West Indies Names 14 Member Test Team for England Tour

Here is the good news that you may have been waiting for long! Yes, if you are an avid fan of Cricket, then we have good – no – great news for you! The Cricket West Indies (CWI) has recently finalized the 14-man Test Team. And it is all set travel to England for the Test Series. Jason Holder has been given the responsibility to lead the Caribbean Nation side. It will also be a debut Series for 2 uncapped West Indies’ players – Nkrumah Bonner and Chemar Holder.

The Series will go ahead once the Government of United Kingdom gives the green signal. Another vital point to note here is that the upcoming England-West Indies Test Series will be held in empty stadiums. It is to avoid the possible spread of the deadly Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19). The Test Series is scheduled to kick off on July 8 2020.

This bilateral Test rubber will be played as part of the Wisden Trophy 2020. It will be a Cricket encounter that will be conducted in a bio-secure environment.

The Series between both these nations were first scheduled to be played in June 2020. But, it has to be postponed to July 2020 owing to the COVID-19 Pandemic outbreak.

The schedule for the Series was revealed by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) after much confusion.   

England vs West Indies Test series – Full schedule

• 1st Test v West Indies: 8-12 July at Hampshire Ageas Bowl

• 2nd Test v West Indies: 16-20 July at Old Trafford

• 3rd Test v West Indies: 24-28 July at Old Trafford

West Indies Test squad announced by the CWI

  1. Jason Holder (c)
  2. Jermaine Blackwood
  3. Nkrumah Bonner
  4. Kraigg Brathwaite
  5. Shamrah Brooks
  6. John Campbell
  7. Roston Chase
  8. Rahkeem Cornwall
  9. Shane Dowrich (wk)
  10. Chemar Holder
  11. Shai Hope
  12. Alzarri Joseph
  13. Raymon Reifer
  14. Kemar Roach 

11 reserved players also named along with the 14-member squad

West Indies’ Selectors have also named 11 reserved players along with 14 Test probables. Chemar Holder (not related to the Skipper Jason Holder) has been given a chance. Chemar has impressed with his fast bowling in Domestic Season. And he has been rightfully given his due with a spot in the Test Team.


  1. Sunil Ambris
  2. Joshua da Silva
  3. Shannon Gabriel
  4. Keon Harding
  5. Kyle Mayers
  6. Preston McSween
  7. Marquino Mindley
  8. Shane Moseley
  9. Anderson Phillip
  10. Oshane Thomas
  11. Jomel Warrican

Nkrumah Bonner, the Jamaica right-handed bat, has also been called for his first Test appearance. Shannon Gabriel is not 100% match fit, along with Jomel Warrican. Nonetheless, Star batsman Shimron Hetmyer and Keemo Paul, along with Darren Bravo have not given their consent to Tour England.

It was in 2019 when these two countries played a Test Series. The Jason Holder led side went on to pocket the 3-Test rubber 2-1.