Sheldon Jackson reacts after being left out of India’s tour of Sri Lanka


Sheldon Jackson, the talented batsman from Saurashtra left heartbroken after he was not picked for Team India for the Sri Lanka tour. BCCI has picked a 20-member squad that comprises several debutants with the likes of Devdutt Padikkal, Chetan Sakariya, and others.

Sheldon Jackson has done a great job for his Ranji side in the recent past. He is one of the four batsmen to score 750 plus runs four times in the domestic season. The right-handed batsman is a brilliant fielder and he is still exceptionally fit at the age of 34. Overall, he has mustered 5634 runs in 76 First-Class games with the help of 19 tons and 27 fifties. He has an amazing average of 49.42.

Sheldon Jackson Upset After Being left out of Team India For Sri Lanka Tour

Source BCCI

In an interview, Sheldon Jackson said that he is in his thirties and still performing better than many 22-23-year-old cricketers. As per him, there is nowhere written that a 30+year-old cannot play for Team India. This should not be criteria to judge a player’s caliber and ability.

“I’m 34. If I’m performing well, better than a 22-23-year-old, where is it written in the laws of the game that you’re not eligible to get picked for the national team? Who are those people judging you, and on ability are they judging you? By Ranji score? Fitness?” Jackson told to Cricket Next.

He added that scoring runs with consistency in the domestic circuit show about his current fitness. Sheldon Jackson looked very emotional and heartbroken after being left out by the national selectors.

“If you’re scoring 800-900 runs consistently for two-three seasons, it means you have to be fit. Or you won’t be able to sustain it. So how can you be judged? Many a time I hear that ‘he’s above 30’. Where is it written that you can’t be picked? And who are these people who are taking away your right from you?” he stated.

India Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (VC), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Krishnappa Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Click for the latest cricket news and updates from cricket world.