New Zealand is currently playing 2nd ODI of the three-match series against Bangladesh at Hagley Oval in Christchurch. And, the game hogged the spotlight over a controversial decision of the third umpire that adjudged Tamim Iqbal not out off Kyle Jamieson.
New Zealand won the toss and elected to field first. The Kiwi pacer got off the mark brilliantly in the 2nd ODI as they dismissed visitors’ opener, Liton Das. The Bangladesh opener got out for a duck against Kiwi pacer Matt Henry.
Kyle Jamieson Brilliant Catch Denied By Third Umpire Ignites Controversy
Later on, Soumya Sarkar and Tamim Iqbal stitched a match-saving partnership for their side. The duo rescued Bangladesh on the back of their 81 runs. In the end, Mithun also stepped forward with a brilliant knock and contributed well with the bat. He smashed 73 runs studded with six boundaries and two sixes. Meanwhile, Mushafiqur Rahim also contributed in the ’30s for his team in the 2nd ODI.
But the most controversial instance of the day happened in the over of Kyle Jamieson. The tall heightened bowler bowled a decent full-length delivery and Tamim Iqbal went for a straight drive. But, the latter failed in playing a grounded drive.
At the same time, the bowler got an opportunity of grabbing a remarkable catch and he did the same. However, the on-field umpire was not convinced and seek for help from the third umpire. Surprisingly, the latter adjudged Tamim Iqbal not out that left every Kiwi player and fan in dilemma.
Also, in the replay, it was clearly visible that Kyle Jamieson cleanly took the catch while in his bowling follow-through.
Coming onto the match, the hosts won the game by a big margin of five wickets with 10 balls to spare. Tom Latham managed a magnificent century with the willow that helped New Zealand on the winning end.