BCCI Announces Team India’s 15-man Squad For WTC Final Against Australia, Ajinkya Rahane Rejoins Team  

    India Squad For WTC Final

    Team India’s squad for the World Test Championship Final (WTC Final) has been announced by BCCI. In the WTC final, which will be played from June 7 to June 11, Rohit Sharma will captain a 15-man team against Australia at the Oval in London.

    After a string of outstanding performances in domestic cricket and the IPL 2023, veteran batsman Ajinkya Rahane rejoins the team. Shardul Thakur, an all-arounder, was also selected for India’s WTC squad.

    The 5-man pace attack, which also includes Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Umesh Yadav, still includes left-arm pacer, Jaydev Unadkat.

    Along with the team’s skipper, Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill is anticipated to start the innings, and KL Rahul has been added to the roster. Ishan Kishan, a wicketkeeper-batsman who competed for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, has been dropped.

    KS Bharat has been selected as the starting wicketkeeper-batter despite his underwhelming performance in the four-match home series against Australia in February–March. Check complete details on India’s WTC final squad.

    India squad for WTC final

    India squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, KS Bharat, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat. 

    Ajinkya Rahane got the golden spot 

    On the strength of his regular performances, Ajinkya Rahane, who last represented India during their tour of South Africa in 2022, rejoins the team. In the absence of Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer, both of whom are injured, the selectors chose to play it safe by choosing Rahane.

    In the Ranji Trophy 2022–23, Rahane scored 634 runs for Mumbai, scoring 2 centuries—including a double century—in 7 games. With a strike rate of almost 200, he has been in outstanding form for Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2023.

    Rahane and KL Rahul may compete for a position in the middle order, whilst Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara will be a part of a strong top-order for India.

    Australia squad for WTC final

    Australia also announced their lineup for the World Test Championship final earlier in the month, bringing back players like Mitchell Marsh and keeping struggling David Warner.

    Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vice-captain), Mitchell Starc, David Warner

    Also Read: Cricket Australia Announces 17-Man Squad For WTC Final 2023 Against India