ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Australia Name Strong Squad

    Australia squad ICC ODI World Cup 2023

    As the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 inches closer, the stakes and the excitement levels are quite high. The likes of England, India and Australia will once again come into the tournament as favourites. Now ahead of the World Cup, 5-time ODI World Cup winners Australia have named a star-studded squad.

    One of the key talking points in this squad is the inclusion of Sean Abbott. The Australian speedster has earned a maiden call and he would be looking to unleash his potential at the highest stage.

    The likes of Steve Smith, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Glenn Maxwell form the backbone of this squad. As the World Cup will be taking place in India, a few spin-bowling options have been named as well.


    Tanveer Sangha, who played exceedingly well in his debut game against South Africa, picking up 4 wickets, unfortunately missed out on the final bus. The likes of Nathan Ellisa and Aaron Hardie too weren’t picked in the Australian side.

    Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa will be the spinners to watch out for and skipper Pat Cummins will be hoping that his spin-kings spin a web and bamboozle the opposition batters in India.

    The two wicketkeepers in the team are Alex Carey and Josh Inglis, with Carey being the preferred option after an outstanding World Cup performance in England 2019.

    Australia lock horns with India in their opening fixture in the campaign on 8th October 2023. The match will be taking place at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai and the spinners will be playing a big role in this match.

    In the previous edition of the World Cup, Australia had reached the semi-finals where they had lost to hosts and eventual champions England by 8 wickets. They would be hoping to get over the line this time and add their 6th ODI World Cup trophy to their glittering trophy cabinet.

    “Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc and Glenn Maxwell are on track in their return to play programs. All are well placed to come back online in the coming weeks and potentially for selection in the upcoming series against India,” said George Bailey, who is the chairman of selectors of Australia.

    Australia Squad for ICC ODI World Cup 2023

    Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.

    Also read: Asia Cup 2023: 3 Talking Points Of SL vs AFG