Major League Cricket 2023: MI New York Outclass Washington Freedom In Eliminator; Washington Crash Out Of Tournament

    Major League Cricket MI New York vs Washington Freedom

    Washington Freedom became the 3rd team to crash out of the Major League Cricket 2023 tournament after they lost by 16 runs at the hands of MI New York.

    After being put into bat by Washington Freedom, MI New York posted a modest total of 141 runs on the board. Dewald Brevis top-scored with a knock of 57 runs in just 41 deliveries. His knock was laced with 4 fours and 3 sixes.

    The two other batters who played reasonably well for MI New York were opener Shayan Jahangir and middle-order batter Tim David.

    Both these batters scored 25 and 23 runs respectively. Tim David’s explosive knock of 23 runs in just 12 balls was quite effective. His innings was peppered with 1 four and 2 sixes.

    Saurabh Netravalkar was the pick of the bowlers for MI New York as he took 2 wickets in his quota of 4 overs, conceding 25 runs.

    Marco Jansen, Justin Dill and Akeal Hosein took 1 wicket each in their innings.

    Trent Boult once again weaved magic with the ball

    Left-arm seamer Trent Boult once again shone with the ball as he bagged 4 wickets for MI New York in this game. With 15 wickets under his belt, Trent Boult is the highest wicket-taker of MI New York in Major League Cricket 2023.

    Nosthush Kenjige bagged 2 wickets as well and made sure that MI New York bagged the honours of this game.

    For Washington Freedom, none of the batters found their rhythm in this Eliminator game. Marco Jansen tried his level best towards the fag end of the innings to take them over the line but it went in vain.

    MI New York will now be crossing swords with Texas Super Kings in Qualifier 2. It is slated to take place on 29th July 2023 and promises to be an absolute crackerjack of a contest.


    MI New York 

    Dewald Brevis, Shayan Jahangir, Tim David, David Wiese, Hammad Azam, Kieron Pollard ©, Steven Taylor, Monank Patel, Nicholas Pooran, Saideep Ganesh, Ehsan Adil, Jason Behrendorff, Jasdeep Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Phillip, Nosthush Kenjige, Rashid Khan, Sarabjit Ladda

    Washington Freedom

    Moises Henriques (c), Mukhtar Ahmed, Saad Ali, Akhilesh Bodugum, Justin Dill, Ben Dwarshuis, Andries Gous, Sujith Gowda, Wanindu Hasaranga, Marco Jansen, Adam Milne, Saurabh Netravalkar, Anrich Nortje, Josh Philippe, Glenn Phillips, Dane Piedt, Obus Pienaar, Usman Rafiq, and Akeal Hosein.

    Also read: WI vs IND ODIs: 3 Reasons Why Virat Kohli Can Win Player Of The Series