Major League Cricket 2023: Seattle Orcas Book Place In Finals After Thumping 9-Wicket Victory Over Texas Super Kings

    Major League Cricket Seattle Orcas vs Texas Super Kings

    In Qualifier 1 of the ongoing Major League Cricket 2023, it was a one-sided contest. Seattle Orcas ruled the roost and defeated Texas Super Kings by 9 wickets. They have now booked their place in the finals of this tournament.

    Batting first after winning the toss, Faf Du Plessis and co. never got their bearings right during the course of the innings. A couple of starts the batters got but they failed to capitalise on the starts.

    Devon Conway scored 24 runs in 19 balls whereas Cody Chetty scored 24 runs in 21 balls. These were the two performers in the top-order for Texas Super Kings.

    Andrew Tye performed exceedingly well with the ball

    For Seattle Orcas, it was Andrew Tye who sent the batters back to the hut on most occasions. The Australian pacer bagged 3 wickets and was quite lethal with the ball.

    His scalps included David Miller, Mitchell Santner and Mohsin Mohammad. He was also involved in the run-out of Calvin Savage.

    Quinton De Kock scored a fabulous knock of 88* runs

    Chasing a below-par total of 127 runs, the Seattle Orcas cruised to victory without breaking much of a sweat. Despite losing Nauman Anwar early on in the innings, they didn’t go back into a shell.

    They kept scoring runs at a brisk state, led by southpaw opener Quinton De Kock. He scored 88* runs in just 50 balls and was the cynosure of all eyes.

    Quinton De Kock smashed 10 fours and 4 sixes and has a good strike-rate of 176 in his innings.

    Shehan Jayasuriya scored 31* runs in 34 balls and played the role of a sheet anchor quite well. He smashed 4 boundaries during his innings.

    For Texas Super Kings, it was only Rusty Theron who managed to get a break-through.

    Texas Super Kings now have another shot at qualification to the finals. They will be up against MI New York on 29th July 2023 for the Qualifier 2.

    Seattle Orcas will be directly playing the Major League Cricket 2023 finals on 31st July 2023.

    Seattle Orcas Full squad

    Nauman Anwar, Quinton de Kock (wk), Cameron Gannon, Shehan Jayasuriya, Aaron Jones, Heinrich Klaasen, Izharulhaq Naveed, Wayne Parnell, Nisarg Patel, Angelo Perera, Shubham Ranjane, Dasun Shanaka, Phani Simhadri, Harmeet Singh, Matthew Tromp, Andrew Tye, Imad Wasim, Shimron Hetmyer, and Dwaine Pretorius

    Texas Super Kings Full squad

    Faf du Plessis (c), Sami Aslam, Dwayne Bravo, Cody Chetty, Gerald Coetzee, Devon Conway, Milind Kumar, Lahiru Milantha, David Miller, Mohammad Mohsin, Saiteja Mukkamalla, Daniel Sams, Mitchell Santner, Calvin Savage, Zia Shahzad, Cameron Stevenson, and Rusty Theron.

    Also read: WI vs IND: India Coast To Comfortable Victory Against A Hapless-Looking West Indies Outfit