Major League Cricket 2023: Texas Super Kings Qualify For Playoffs With Close 3-Wicket Victory Over San Francisco Unicorns

    Major League Cricket 2023

    After their defeat at the hands of Texas Super Kings in Match 14 of the ongoing Major League Cricket 2023, San Francisco Unicorn’s chances of qualifying for the playoffs of this tournament have become quite tough.

    Only a mathematical miracle can make them qualify now as the entire equation boils down to the final game between MI New York and Seattle Orcas. Seattle have to beat MI New York by a huge margin and only then San Francisco Unicorns can qualify for the playoffs.

    Batting first, San Francisco Unicorns posted 171 runs on the board, with opener Matthew Wade top-scoring with 49 runs in 30 deliveries. His innings was peppered with 4 fours and 3 sixes and included several fireworks.

    Gerald Coetzee bagged 4 wickets in the game

    Texas Super Kings bowler Gerald Coetzee had a great outing at Morrisville in this game. He bagged 4 wickets and prevented the opposition from accumulating a humongous total. Coetzee’s standout performance was the cynosure of all eyes.

    Daniel Sams’ explosive knock helped Texas Super Kings qualify

    After Texas Super Kings kept losing wickets during the course of their 2nd innings, it was Daniel Sams who emerged as a hero for them. The Australian all-rounder smashed 42 runs in just 18 deliveries and showed everyone as to why he is one of the best finishers in world cricket at the moment.

    San Francisco Unicorns would be quite upset with their death bowling as they ended up conceding 51 runs in the last 4 overs. The match changed completely when Daniel Sams decided to take things into his own hand.

    Texas Super Kings are presently in the 2nd position in the points table, with 6 points under their belt. Faf Du Plessis and co. would be pretty happy with their performance in this game and the fact that they cemented a place in the playoffs of Major League Cricket 2023.


    San Francisco Unicorns

    Aaron Finch, David White, Mackenzie Harvey, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Corey Anderson, Marcus Stoinis, Sanjay Krishnamurthi, Shadab Khan, Tajinder Singh, Finn Allen, Matthew Wade, Brody Couch, Carmi le Roux, Haris Rauf, Liam Plunkett, Lungi Ngidi, Qais Ahmad

    Texas Super Kings

    Faf du Plessis (c), Sami Aslam, Dwayne Bravo, Cody Chetty, Gerald Coetzee, Devon Conway, Milind Kumar, Lahiru Milantha, David Miller, Mohammad Mohsin, Saiteja Mukkamalla, Daniel Sams, Mitchell Santner, Calvin Savage, Zia Shahzad, Cameron Stevenson, and Rusty Theron.

    Also read: WI vs IND: 3 Talking Points From The Test Series