SA vs AUS: South Africa Register Mammoth 122-Run Victory Over Australia; Win Series 3-2 After Being 0-2 Down

    SA vs AUS 5th ODI

    It was a fairytale comeback from Temba Bavuma and co. as they displayed tremendous resilience to come from a losing position in the ODI series. South Africa were 0-2 down in the ODI series and staged a fabulous comeback to win it 3-2.

    After suffering a white-wash in the T20I series and losing the first 2 ODIs, doomsday was in store for the home side. But they crawled out of the precarious situation they were in and infused themselves with a lot of confidence ahead of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023.

    Batting first, South Africa posted a humongous total of 315 runs on the board. Vice-captain Aiden Markram top-scored with a knock of 93 runs. His knock was packed with 9 fours and 3 sixes and he had a brilliant strike-rate of 106.9.

    South Africa also had David Miller who performed well in the game with a knock of 63 runs in 65 balls. The likes of Marco Jansen and Andile Phehlukwayo fired on all cylinders towards the end of the innings and powered South Africa to a commanding total in the 1st innings.

    The Australian batters didn’t get their bearings right except a couple

    Apart from skipper Mitchell Marsh and Marnus Labuschange, none of the other Australian batters found their bearings in this match. Marsh had opened the innings after Travis Head was ruled out of the series because of an injury.

    He scored 71 runs in 56 balls but it wasn’t enough as the South African bowlers ruled the roost with the white-ball.

    Marco Jansen was the pick of the bowlers for South Africa

    After his power-packed knock of 47 runs in the 1st innings, the young and dynamic all-rounder Marco Jansen shone with the white-ball. He bagged 5 wickets in the 2nd innings and set the stage for an incredible victory for the hosts.

    Keshav Maharaj too performed well as he bagged 4 wickets and had an excellent economy of 3.6 in this game.


    South Africa

    Temba Bavuma (c), Dewald Brevis, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton De kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Henrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada


    Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

    Also read: Asia Cup 2023: 3 Talking Points Of IND vs SL Finals