Star Sports IPL Incredible Awards: Best Captain, Batsman, Bowler, Who Won What, Check Full Winner List 

Star Sports IPL Incredible Awards

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the world’s most popular and richest T20 league. This competition has not only popularised cricket around the world, but it has also boosted the careers of numerous cricketers.

The IPL 2023 is still a month away, and the league’s broadcasters had decided to celebrate the IPL’s amazing fifteen years by hosting a special awards event. Its main goal was to memorialize and honor the unique players who, since the commencement of the IPL, have contributed to the growth and popularity of cricket around the world through their performances.

The IPL Incredible Awards category has a total of six awards. The awards were handed out on Monday (February 20) in a variety of categories, including Best Batter, Best Captain, and many others.

Former India players Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, and Irfan Pathan served on the award ceremony’s jury. Know the complete list of IPL 2023 Incredible Awards winner’s list. 

IPL Incredible Awards – Who Won What? 

  • Best Captain in the IPL: Rohit Sharma
  • Best Batter in the IPL: Ab De Villiers
  • Best Batting in an IPL season: Virat Kohli (2016)
  • Best Overall Impact in the IPL: Andre Russell
  • Best Bowler in the IPL: Jasprit Bumrah
  • Best Bowling in an IPL season: Sunil Narine (2012)

Best Captain in the IPL – Rohit Sharma

In the IPL Incredible Awards, Rohit Sharma was named Best Captain. Mumbai Indians coach Rohit Sharma has guided the team to five trophies in 15 years. Between 2013 and 22, Rohit Sharma captained 143 matches, winning 79 of them with a victory percentage of 56.64.

Nominees for Best Captain in the IPL

  • Gautam Gambhir
  • MS Dhoni
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Shane Warne

Best Batter in the IPL – AB De Villiers

Among the many batters who have scored a lot of runs, the judges decided to give South Africa’s AB de Villiers the ‘Best Batter’ title. The talismanic Protea began his career with the Delhi Daredevils before joining the Royal Challengers Bangalore. In 184 IPL innings, he scored 5162 runs at a strike rate of 151.69 and an average of 39.71. His greatest IPL score is 133.

Nominees for Best Batter in the IPL

  • AB de Villiers
  • Chris Gayle
  • David Warner
  • Suresh Raina

Best Bowler in IPL: Jasprit Bumrah

Since 2013, Jasprit Bumrah has been a regular with the Mumbai Indians. He has helped the franchise in every way possible and has helped them win matches in the most unlikely of circumstances. Since his debut, he has taken 145 wickets for the Mumbai franchise, becoming the backbone of their bowling attack.

Nominees for Best Bowler in the IPL:

  • Rashid Khan
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Sunil Narine
  • Yuzvendra Chahal

Incredible Overall Impact: Andre Russell

Andre Russell, an all-rounder for the Kolkata Knight Riders, received the Overall Impact award for his contributions with both the bat and all. One of the most intimidating batters in T20 history, the West Indies player has been an essential part of the Knights’s setup.

He is regarded as the most significant player in the IPL because he has helped KKR win numerous games all by himself in the past.

Nominees for Best Overall Impact in the IPL:

  • Sunil Narine
  • Andre Russell
  • Shane Watson
  • Rashid Khan

Best Batting Performance in a Season: Virat Kohli

There should be no doubt about why Virat Kohli was selected for this award if one thinks back to the 2016 season. Who could forget his utter dominance throughout that IPL season?

Since then, Kohli has been in charge, and no other batsman has ever hit more runs than him in a single IPL season, amassing a staggering 973 runs with four centuries in one edition. Thus, Kohli was the award’s most apparent choice.

Nominees for Best Batting in an IPL season

  • Chris Gayle – 2011
  • Virat Kohli – 2016
  • David Warner – 2016
  • Jos Buttler – 2022

Best Bowling Performance in a Season: Sunil Narine

For his first season with KKR in 2012, Sunil Narine won the prize for the best season performance with the ball. The spinning wizard had a season total of 24 wickets at an economy rate of 5.5, which helped the Knight Riders win the IPL for the first time ever that year.

Nominees for Best Bowler in the IPL:

  • Sunil Narine, 2012
  • Rashid Khan, 2018
  • Jofra Archer, 2020
  • Yuzvendra Chahal, 2022

Also Read: IPL 2023: 3 Players Who Can Replace Kyle Jamieson In Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Squad