ISL 2022-23: ATK Mohun Bagan Hold Nerves And Qualify For Finals: Defeat Hyderabad FC On Penalties

Vishal Kaith ISL

ATK Mohun Bagan put on a resounding display during the penalties and booked the final berth in the finals of the ongoing Indian Super League (ISL) 2022-23. Defending champions of ISL Hyderabad FC thereby crashed out of ISL 2022-23 after this loss.

The Nizams and the Mariners were held to a 0-0 draw in the first leg of this semi-final. Even in yesterday’s leg at the Salt Lake Stadium, there were no goals scored during the first 90 minutes and even during the extra time.

It then went to the penalties and there were a few ebbs and flows in the penalty round. It was also the 2nd time in the history of ISL that a semi-final ended without a goal being scored during normal and extra time.

The first time this happened was way back in 2014 during the inaugural season of ISL. ATK and FC Goa were held to a 0-0 draw across both legs and then the Kolkata-based outfit won the game in the penalty round, 4-2.

Hyderabad FC had missed 2 of their goals from the spot during the penalty round and that essentially dictated the result of the game. ATK Mohun Bagan then missed one penalty after Brendan Hamill failed to get it past the goalkeeper.

But Hyderabad FC were out as the home side had a lead of a couple of goals. ATK Mohun Bagan will now be facing Bengaluru FC in the finals of ISL 2022-23.

The finals of ISL 2022-23 will be taking place at the Fatorda Stadium in Goa and Bengaluru FC would be hoping to lay their hands on their 2nd ISL trophy.

Nikhil Poojary was a key player in the defensive structure of Hyderabad FC but was very unfortunate to have missed out on the opportunity to qualify for the finals. Poojary made 5 clearances, 3 blocks and executed 8 tackles.

During the first half of the extra time, he saved a certain goal when he came right in front of Liston Colaco after an inch-perfect cross was whipped in from the right wing.


ATK Mohun Bagan

Arsh Anwer, Vishal Kaith, Arsh Shaikh, Avilash Paul, Carl McHugh, Manvir Singh Brendan Hamill, Sumit Rathi, Slavko Damjanovic, Subhashish Bose, Asish Rai, Ashutosh Mehta, Pritam Kotal, Deepak Tangri, Lalrinliana Hnamte, Pronay Halder, Dimitri Petratos, Ashique Kuruniyan, Lalthathanga Khawlhring, Federico Gallego Kiyan Nassiri, Manvir Singh, Liston Colaco, Glan Martins, Md Fardin Ali, Hugo Boumous

Hyderabad FC

Laxmikant Kattimani, Gurmeet Singh, Lalbiakhlua Jongte; Aman Kumar Sahani, Chinglensana Konsham, Odei Onaindia, Nim Dorjee Tamang, Akash Mishra, Manoj Mohammad, Soyal Joshy, Alex Saji, Joao Victor, Mohammad Yasir, Sweden Fernandes, Sahil Tavora, Lalchungnunga Chhangte, Hitesh Sharma, Halicharan Narzary, Borja Herrera, Nikhil Poojary, Abdul Rabeeh, Mark Zothanpuia, Joel Chianese, Aaren D’Silva, Bartholomew Ogbeche, Rohit Danu, Javier Siverio.

Also read: ISL 2022-23: 3 Reasons Why Bengaluru FC Can Win The ISL