ISL 2022-23: Chennaiyin FC Register 2-2 Stalemate With Odisha FC

Chennaiyin FC vs Odisha FC

Chennaiyin FC once again dropped points at home as they registered a 2-2 draw with Odisha FC. This was Thomas Brdaric’s men’s 6th draw in ISL 2022-23. On the other hand, Odisha FC would be extremely happy with this point as they now go above Bengaluru FC in the ISL 2022-23 points table.

The score-line read 2-2 and it was a fantastic and exciting game of play that unfolded in front of us at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Chennai.

In the 24th minute, Odisha FC scored a goal against the run of play. Isak Vanlalruatfela gave an excellent through ball to Diego Mauricio who got a lot of space in front of the goal on the left side. The Brazilian forward did no mistake and slotted it right into the back of the net to give the Juggernauts the lead.

Chennaiyin FC wasted no time in equalizing. In the 25th minute, Anirudh Thapa scored a goal. Aakash Sangwan gave a lovely cross from the left flank to Anirudh Thapa who was at the right place, at the right time. He slightly tapped in the ball with his head, with utmost precision, to equalize for the Chennai Machans.

At the end of the first half, the score line read 1-1 and the match was heading towards an exciting finish.

In the 47th minute of the game, just about a couple of minutes after half-time, Odisha FC took the lead. Nandhakumar gave a grounded cross from the right wing to the assist maker of the first goal, Isak Vanlalruatfela. Isak did well to keep his calm and composure after being in the mix with two Chennaiyin FC defenders.

Chennaiyin FC once again came back into the game with an equalizer in the 58th minute. Vincy Barreto battled down the left wing and conjured a feeble cross into the middle. It came back straight to him after it touched an Odisha FC player. He then passed the ball to Abdenasser El Khayati.

The 33-year-old Dutch footballer took a touch and then found the back of the net with his goal to bring his side right back into the game. And the match ended up being a stalemate.

Odisha FC next lock horns with FC Goa on 6th February 2023 at home. Chennaiyin FC on the other hand will be traveling to Kerala to face Kerala Blasters FC on 7th February 2023.


Chennaiyin FC

Debjit Majumder, Samik Mitra, Devansh Dabas, Lovepreet Singh, Narayan Das, Aakash Sangwan, Vafa Hakhamaneshi, Fallou Diagne, Gurmukh Singh, Md. Sajid Dhot, Ajith Kumar, Monotosh Chakladar, Md. Aqib. Nasser El Khayati, Jiteshwor Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Edwin Vanspaul, Julius Duker, Sajal Bag, Chris White, Mohammed Rafique, Sourav Das, Suhail Pasha Forwards: Ninthoi Meetei, Vincy Barretto, Rahim Ali, Romario Jesuraj, Petar Sliskovic, Kwame Karikari, Prasanth Karuthadathkuni, Jockson Dhas, Senthamizh, Jobby Justin, Gulab Singh, Mohamed Liyaakath

Odisha FC

 Lalthuammawia Ralte, Dylan da Silva, Narender Gahlot, Nikhil Prabhu, Carlos Delgado, Osama Malik, Shubham Sarangi, Sebastian Thangmuansang, Y. Denechandra Meitei, Sahil Panwar, Lalruatthara, Paul Ramfangzuava, Raynier Fernandes, Saul Crespo, Thoiba Singh Moirangthem, Tankadhar Bag, Victor Rodriguez, Isaac Vanmalsawma, Pedro Martin, Diego Mauricio, Nandakumar Sekhar, Akshunna Tyagi, Jerry Mawihmingthanga, Isak Vanlalruatfela Ralte, Michael Soosairaj

Also read: ISL 2022-23: Market Value Of Kerala Blasters FC, Most Valuable Players, Squad & Stats