ISL 2022-23: Jamshedpur FC Push NorthEast United FC Further Into A Slump; Win 2-0

Jamshedpur FC win

NorthEast United FC’s woes in the Indian Super League (ISL) 2022-23 continued further as they slumped to their 15th loss. There was not a lot of coordination and rhythm within the players as they succumbed to another home loss.

The score line at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium read 2-0 in favor of the Men of Steel. Ritwik Das and Daniel Chukwu scored the goals for them and with this win, Aidy Boothroyd’s men registered their 3rd win in ISL 2022-23.

Around the 21st minute of the game, Romain Philippoteaux pulled the trigger from close range after dribbling the ball to some extent. But the shot lacked power and went straight to the hands of Jamshedpur FC’s shot-stopper, TP Rehnesh.

The man in form, Ritwik Das drew first blood for the Men of Steel in the 39th minute. All the action leading up to the goal happened inside the penalty box. Daniel Chukwu took a shot and the shot was deflected by NorthEast United FC’s goalkeeper.

It fell right near Das and he cheekily tapped in the ball to provide the first goal for the visitors. Their constant attacks and pressing and accuracy with set-pieces.

The first-half score read 1-0 in favor of Jamshedpur FC and the visitors netted another goal in the 2nd half, to further solidify their position in this ISL 2022-23 game.

NorthEast United FC was extremely unlucky in the 49th minute of the game as Richard Cule’s shot hit the side post and denied the Highlanders the opportunity to score.

In the 56th minute, Jamshedpur FC scored their 2nd goal in the game. Rafael Crivellaro gave a top-notch to a moving Daniel Chukwu inside the box. Chukwu obtained control of the ball in return and slotted it right behind the net.

It’s a doubleheader day on 5th February 2023. Odisha FC will be crossing swords with FC Goa in the first game and it will be followed by a game between ATK Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata.


NorthEast United FC

Arindam Bhattacharja, Mirshad Michu, Nikhil Deka, Khoirom Singh, Michael Jakobsen, Aaron Evans, Gaurav Bora, Gurjinder Kumar, Joe Zoherliana, Mashoor Shereef, Tondonba Singh, Provat Lakra, Jon Gaztanaga, Romain Phillippoteaux, Emanuel Lalchhanchhuaha, Emil Benny, Pragyan Gogoi, Mohamed Irshad, Imran Khan, Sehnaj Singh, Matt Derbyshire, Sylvester Igboun, Rochharzela, Laldanmawia Ralte, Jithin MS, Gani Nigam, Dipu Mirdha, Alfred Lalroutsang, Parthib Gogoi

Jamshedpur FC

Rakshit Dagar, Vishal Yadav, Rehenesh TP, Mohit Singh Dhami, Laldinliana Renthlei, Ricky Lallawmawma, Muhammed Uvais Moyikkal, Sandip Mandi, Laldinpuia Pachuau, Eli Sabia Filho, Pratik Prabhakar Chaudhari, Dylan Fox, Boris Singh Thangjam, Komal Thatal, Farukh Haji Kasam Choudhary, Seiminlen Doungel, Ritwik Kumar Das, Pronay Halder, Rafael Crivellaro, Jitendra Singh, Sekh Sahil, Germanpreet Singh, Jay Aston Emmanuel Thomas, Harrison Hickey Sawyer, Ishan Pandita, Daniel Chima Chukwu

Also read: ISL 2022-23: Chennaiyin FC Register 2-2 Stalemate With Odisha FC