ISL 2022-23: Kerala Blasters FC Stage Comeback To Bag 3 Points Against Chennaiyin FC

Kerala Blasters FC win

Kerala Blasters FC pocketed off the Southern Derby in the ongoing Indian Super League (ISL) 2022-23 with the score-line reading 2-1 in favour of the home side. Kerala Blasters FC treated its home fans to an absolute treat as they staged an emphatic come-from-behind victory against the Chennai Machans.

As soon as the match started, Abdenasser El Khayati scored a goal for the travelling side. It was incidentally, the midfielder’s birthday. The 34-year-old produced a fantastic goal as he dribbled past the two centre-backs of Kerala Blasters FC and slotted the ball right behind Kerala Blasters FC’s custodian, Prabhsukhan Singh Gill.

Chennai’s and Khayati’s celebrations were however short-lived as Kerala Blasters FC lived up to the expectations of the sea of fans who thronged the stadium in large numbers. Adrian Luna and Rahul KP found their names on the goal-scoring sheet and powered Kerala Blasters FC to a victory.

In the 38th minute, Adrian Luna found the back of the net and equalized for the Yellow Tuskers. The breathtaking goal from Luna from the edge of the box (centre) powered Kerala Blasters FC to their first goal.

The half-time score read 1-1 and it was even stevens for both the teams. An electrifying atmosphere was created by the fans at Kochi as the entire crowd erupted like a ball of fire.

In the 63rd minute of the game, Nishu gave a throw-in to Adrian Luna in the right flank. The goal-scorer of the first goal then executed a low cross to Rahul KP. The 22-year-old winger then smashed the ball to the back of the net, making sure that the home side has the lead in the game.

With this win, Kerala Blasters FC have made one step closer to a playoff spot. They are now just 3 points away from sealing a spot in the playoffs. On the other hand, Chennaiyin FC have dug themselves a big hole.

They will now not only have to win all their remaining games, but also depend on the results of the other teams. In order words, Thomas Brdaric’s men are hanging on a thin rope.


Kerala Blasters FC

Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Karanjit Singh, Muheet Shabir, Sachin Suresh, Victor Mongil, Marko Leskovic, Hormipam Ruivah, Sandeep Singh, Bijoy Varghese, Nishu Kumar, Jessel Carneiro, Harmanjot Khabra, Jeakson Singh, Ivan Kaliuzhnyi, Lalthathanga Khawlhring, Ayush Adhikari, Saurav, Adrian Luna, Sahal Abdul Samad, Bryce Brian Miranda, Vibin Mohanan, Nihal Sudeesh, Givson Singh, Dimitrios Diamantakos, Rahul K.P, Apostolos Giannou, Bidyashagar Singh, Sreekuttan

Chennayin FC

Debjit Majumder, Samik Mitra, Devansh Dabas, Lovepreet Singh, Narayan Das, Aakash Sangwan, Bikash Yumnam Vafa Hakhamaneshi, Fallou Diagne, Gurmukh Singh, Md. Sajid Dhot, Ajith Kumar, Monotosh Chakladar, Md. Aqib. Nasser El Khayati, Jiteshwor Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Edwin Vanspaul, Julius Duker, Sajal Bag, Chris White, Mohammed Rafique, Sourav Das, Suhail Pasha Forwards: Ninthoi Meetei, Vincy Barretto, Rahim Ali, Romario Jesuraj, Petar Sliskovic, Kwame Karikari, Prasanth Karuthadathkuni, Jockson Dhas, Senthamizh, Jobby Justin, Gulab Singh, Mohamed Liyaakath.

Also read: ISL 2022-23: 3 Reasons Why Mumbai City FC Might Win Their 2nd Title