ISL 2022-23: Mumbai City FC Crowned ISL League Shield Champions

Mumbai City FC ISL league 2022-23 Shield Winners

The rewards for being extremely consistent in the ongoing Indian Super League (ISL) 2022-23 were paid richly as Mumbai City FC won the ISL League Shield for ISL 2022-23. Des Buckingham’s men racked up 14 wins in 20 games and had only 2 losses in their ISL 2022-23 campaign.

Post a satisfying Durand Cup 2022 campaign where the Islanders finished as the runners-up, Mumbai City FC impressed one and all in the ongoing ISL 2022-23. For the longest time, Des Buckingham and his men went without a loss. It was only in the last two matches against Bengaluru FC and East Bengal FC that they registered their first losses in ISL 2022-23.

Good Striking Options

One of the main reasons why Mumbai City FC clicked so well in most of their league matches is the brilliance of their strikers. The likes of Greg Stewart, Alberto Noguera, and Lallianzuala Chhangte delivered their goods with precision and accuracy and scored the bulk of the goals.

Jorge Pereyra Diaz is another striker of Mumbai City FC who played exceptionally well in ISL 2022-23. Diaz has the second-highest number of goals this season, with 11 goals under his belt. This naturally speaks volumes about his brilliance.

Exceptional Defence

Led by skipper Mourtada Fall, Mumbai City FC had a sterling defensive set-up. They didn’t allow the opposition strikers and midfielders to find out pockets of space while attacking and also successfully prevented any form of counter-attack.

The likes of Mehtab Singh, Amey Ranawade, and Rahul Bheke too had exceptional runs.

Mumbai City FC lost just 1 home game in their impressive run in ISL 2022-23 and that came against East Bengal FC, yesterday. The score-line read 1-0 in favor of East Bengal FC and Naorem Mahesh Singh had netted the goal for the Red and Gold Brigade.


Mumbai City FC

Phurba Lachenpa, Mohammad Nawaz, Ravi Kumar, Vikram Lakhbir Singh, Rahul Bheke, Amey Ranawade, Mehtab Singh, Vignesh Dakshinamurthy, Mourtada Fall, Valpuia, Mandar Rao Desa, Gyamar Nikum, Cassio Gabriel, Bradden Inman, Ahmed Jahouh, Raynier Fernandes, Vinit Rai, Naorem Tndomba Singh, Chanso Horam, Asif Khan, Apuia Ralte, Gyamar Nikum, Vikram Partap Singh, Igor Angulo, Pranjal Bhumij, Bipin Singh, Greg Stewart, Lallianzuala Chhangte.Karuthadathkuni, Jockson Dhas, Senthamizh, Jobby Justin, Gulab Singh, Mohamed Liyaakath.

Also read: ISL 2022-23: ATK Mohun Bagan Stage Come-From-Behind Victory Against Kerala Blasters FC