Top 5 Bowlers who picked up Fastest 200 Wickets in ODI Cricket

Top 5 Bowlers who picked up the Fastest 200 Wickets in ODI Cricket

Cricket is an exciting game that sees an intense competition between the bat and the ball to outdo each other. The batsmen and bowlers try to put their best show to help their respective teams win. A large number of fans prefer to see batsmen going ‘boom boom’. But some favor bowlers, who also don’t let the batters steal the show without putting in honest efforts. Today we are going to talk about the bowlers with Fastest 200 Wickets in ODI.

If you go by the game’s history, many proficient bowling Stars have played their heart out. In the process, they have ensured grabbing the limelight when it comes to taking prized-wickets of the Star batsmen. Over the years, many such bowling sensations have managed to rise in the ranks. And they also hold many records across the formats of Cricket.

Bowlers with Fastest 200 Wickets in ODI Cricket

#5 Shane Warne (200 wickets in 125 matches)

Fastest 200 Wickets in ODI Cricket  - Shane Warne

Shane Warne has been one of the greatest ever wrist-spinners that the game of Cricket has seen. He managed to spin a web to dismiss even the legends. He did not find many issues while managing to take 200 ODI wickets in only 125 games. Warne achieved the feat in a match Vs Pakistan back in 1999. Shane Warne has had a big role in making the Australian Team a force to reckon with. He led the Team from the front, and it was then that the Aussies were named as the “Greatest Ever ODI Team”.     

#4 Waqar Younis (200 wickets in 118 games)

Waqar Younis

Pakistan has been a country that has given many quality bowlers in the past. Right from Wasim Akram to Waqar Younis to Saqlain Mushtaq to Shoaib Akhter, the list is long. Waqar was one of the bowling legends with the reverse swing being his best weapon. He went on to achieve 200 wickets in just 118 ODIs. Younis was also one of the aggressive fast bowlers that made him unplayable even by best in the business. He is the now the Bowling Coach of the Pakistan Cricket Team. His 43.50 strike rate was the 2nd highest after Dale Steyn’s 42.

#3 Allan Donald (200 Wickets in 117 matches)

Fastest 200 Wickets in ODI Cricket - Allan Donald

Allan Donald was known as the ‘White Lightning’ and went down in the game as one of the greatest bowlers. He took his 200th wicket during South Africa Vs Zimbabwe game in 1999. It was his 117th ODI game in which he achieved this feat. Over his Cricketing career, the right-hand bowler put an impressive show, particularly in Tests. He made his way into the coveted ‘ICC Cricket Hall of Fame’ in 2019 owing to fantastic performances over the years.

#2 Brett Lee (200 wickets in 112 games)

Brett Lee (200 wickets in 112 games)

Brett Lee was regarded as one of the fastest ever bowlers, alongside Shoaib Akhter. Many Star batsmen were afraid to face him. Lee went on to register his 200th wicket in One Day Internationals in his 112th match. He did that in a game Vs England on 12 July 2005. Lee was not only a wicket-taking bowler but even impressed with his quality fielding and handy batting. The right-hand bowler had a huge role in Australia’s 2003 ICC Cricket World Cup-winning campaign. Lee took 22 wickets in a total of 83.1 overs that he bowled in the marquee Tournament. This way, he helped his Team having the edge over others in the bowling department.

#1 Saqlain Mushtaq (200 wickets in 104 matches)

Saqlain Mushtaq (200 wickets in 104 matches)

Saqlain Mushtaq was among the classist bowlers. He went down as among the best spinners of all time. While playing in his prime days, his performances ensured that his record stays true to the test of time. And yes, he is still able to keep the numero uno slot in the list of bowlers who reached the fastest 200 wickets in ODI. Mushtaq did the unthinkable only in his 104th ODI appearance. In a game Vs South Africa, the spinner had an excellent outing on 5th June 1999 in Nottingham. There is no surprise to mention that Mushtaq is also the fastest 250 wicket-taker in the ODI format.       

Top 20 Bowler to reach this Milestone

S NoPlayerOppositionGroundMatch DateMat
1Saqlain Mushtaq (PAK)v South AfricaNottingham05-Jun-99104
2B Lee (AUS)v EnglandThe Oval12-Jul-05112
3AA Donald (SA)v ZimbabweChelmsford29-May-99117
4Waqar Younis (PAK)v IndiaBengaluru09-Mar-96118
5SK Warne (AUS)v PakistanLord’s20-Jun-99125
6M Ntini (ICC/SA)v AustraliaCape Town03-Mar-06126
7SL Malinga (SL)v IndiaPallekele04-Aug-12127
8MG Johnson (AUS)v EnglandSouthampton16-Sep-13129
9Shoaib Akhtar (Asia/ICC/PAK)v EnglandCardiff30-Aug-06130
10GD McGrath (AUS)v IndiaIndore31-Mar-01133
11AB Agarkar (INDIA)v BangladeshDhaka26-Dec-04133
12D Gough (ENG)v IndiaLord’s05-Sep-04134
13KD Mills (NZ)v South AfricaAuckland03-Mar-12135
14CJ McDermott (AUS)v Sri LankaMelbourne18-Jan-96136
15SM Pollock (SA)v IndiaCenturion10-Oct-01138
16Abdur Razzak (BDESH)v Sri LankaPallekele28-Mar-13141
17Wasim Akram (PAK)v South AfricaEast London15-Feb-93143
18Z Khan (Asia/INDIA)v PakistanGwalior15-Nov-07144
19CEL Ambrose (WI)v Sri LankaPort of Spain06-Jun-97146
20A Kumble (INDIA)v ZimbabweBulawayo26-Sep-98147