Dominant display sees Indian DOTA 2 team secure Asian Championships berth

Dota 2 India

The Indian DOTA 2 Team cruised past Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Nepal in the South Asian qualifiers.

A confident display by the Indian DOTA 2 team saw them get the better of their Southern Asian counterparts to emerge as the champions of South Asian qualifiers. 

By doing so, the Indian team have also become the only team from the southern region to qualify for Asian qualifiers, which is set to be held in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, from July 10 to July 17, 2023.

India dominate from the off

As with the best teams, India established themselves without difficulty and sustained their level throughout the campaign.

The Indian team was spearheaded by skipper Manav Kunte (mnz) along with Vishal Vernekar (HBK), Abhishek Yadav (Abhi-), Shahbaz Hussain (PinkMaN), Krish Gupta (Krish`), and substitute Jaikishan Malik (KaEL).

They kicked-off their campaign in stunning fashion beating rival Pakistan 54-12, followed by 39-14 victory against Sri Lanka.  

Given their cushion in the campaign, India continued to impress on Day 2 clinching comfortable victories against Nepal 47-24 and Bangladesh 40-16.  

India’s good run of form continued on Day 3, facing Nepal in the best-of-three finals, both the games went right down to the wire and India prevailed, in the end.

They emerged as champions after winning the first two rounds by 34-27 and 36-34, respectively. 

This victory qualified India as the only team from the region to participate in the Asian qualifiers.

Earlier this year, the Indian team defeated Team Mob in the finals of the National Esports Championships (NESC) 2023 to qualify for the South Asian Qualifiers competition.

The Indian squad is filled with plenty of young talents including prominent figures Abhishek and Vishal, who were also part of the historic DOTA 2 team that won the bronze medal at the Commonwealth Esports Championships in 2022.

Following the DOTA 2 team’s qualification, India is now tasked with competing against higher-ranked DOTA 2 teams.

These include Kyrgyzstan, Philippines, Mongolia, Australia, Jordan, Myanmar, and Saudi Arabia to qualify for the 15th World Esports Championships in Iasi from August 24 to September 4.

Also Read: FIFA Esports – India Qualifies For FIFAe Nations Cup 2023