IPL 2023: PBKS vs RR Head-to-Head Records In IPL

PBKS vs RR Head-to-Head Records

In match 66 of the IPL 2023 at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) Stadium on May 19, 2023, Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Punjab Kings (PBKS) will square off for the second time.

The last meeting between the two teams took place in the eighth game of the current season, with Punjab Kings emerging victors by a margin of five runs. Shikhar Dhawan (87), PrabhSimran Singh (60), and the rest of the batting order helped PBKS score a massive total of 197/4 in 20 overs. 

Sanju Samson (42) of RR led the comeback in reply, with cameos from Shimron Hetmyer (36) and Dhruv Jurel (32) for RR. However, they were unable to cross the finish line since they missed their target by 5 runs. Check complete details on PBKS vs RR head-to-head records.

Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings will enter the match on the heels of a spoiler play committed by Delhi Capitals in the previous game. Despite Liam Livingstone’s heroics in the closing innings while pursuing a huge 214, they were defeated by DC by a margin of 15 runs. 

To qualify for the playoffs, PBKS will now need more than just a sizable victory. They will also need a lot of favourable results. They will definitely be eliminated from the competition if they lose the upcoming game. 

Rajasthan Royals

On the other hand, Rajasthan Royals will be entering the match after suffering a humiliating loss to Royal Challengers Bangalore in their last match. 

Their qualifying campaign has been hindered by a significant 112-run defeat margin. In order to get past RCB and MI, RR now requires a victory over PBKS in addition to a favour from SRH.

Head-to-Head IPL 2023 Record of PBKS vs RR

Rajasthan Royals have won 14 of the 25 meetings between the two teams, while Punjab Kings came out on top in the other 11 games.

Total – 25

RR – 14

PBKS – 11

List of matches played between PBKS and RR since IPL 2008

DateWinnerWon ByVenue
5-Apr-23Punjab Kings5 RunsGuwahati
7-May-22Rajasthan Royals6 WicketsMumbai
21-Sep-2021Rajasthan Royals2 RunsDubai
12-April-2021Punjab Kings4 RunsMumbai
30-Oct-2020Rajasthan Royals7 WicketsAbu Dhabi
27-Sep-2020Rajasthan Royals4 WicketsSharjah
16-Apr-2019Punjab Kings12 RunsMohali
25-Mar-2019Punjab Kings14 RunsJaipur
8-May-2018Rajasthan Royals15 RunsJaipur
6-May-2018Punjab Kings6 WicketsIndore
21-Apr-2015Punjab KingsOne-Over EliminatorAhmedabad
10-Apr-2015Rajasthan Royals26 RunsPune
23-May-2014Punjab Kings16 RunsSharjah
20-April-2014Punjab Kings7 WicketsMohali
9-May-2013Rajasthan Royals8 WicketsMohali
14-April-2013Rajasthan Royals6 WicketsJaipur
5-May-2012Rajasthan Royals43 RunsMohali
6-April-2012Rajasthan Royals31 RunsJaipur
21-April-2011Punjab Kings48 RunsMohali
7-April-2010Rajasthan Royals9 WicketsJaipur
24-Mar-2010Rajasthan Royals31 RunsMohali
5-May-2009Rajasthan Royals78 RunsDurban
26-April-2009Punjab Kings27 RunsCape Town
28-May-2008Punjab Kings41 RunsMohali
21-Apr-2008Rajasthan Royals6 WicketsJaipur

Most runs in PBKS vs RR fixtures

Sanju Samson (RR) – 594 runs 

Most wickets in PBKS vs RR fixtures

Arshdeep Singh (PBKS) – 14 wickets


Punjab Kings Squad: Shikhar Dhawan(c), Atharva Taide, Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma(w), Sam Curran, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Rahul Chahar, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Ellis, Arshdeep Singh, Prabhsimran Singh, Sikandar Raza, Matthew Short, Rishi Dhawan, Mohit Rathee, Harpreet Singh Bhatia, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Baltej Singh, Vidhwath Kaverappa, Gurnoor Brar, Shivam Singh

Rajasthan Royals Squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson(w/c), Joe Root, Dhruv Jurel, Shimron Hetmyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Adam Zampa, Sandeep Sharma, KM Asif, Yuzvendra Chahal, Trent Boult, Jason Holder, Murugan Ashwin, Navdeep Saini, Akash Vasisht, KC Cariappa, Obed McCoy, Riyan Parag, Devdutt Padikkal, Kuldip Yadav, Kuldeep Sen, Donavon Ferreira, Abdul Basith, Kunal Singh Rathore

Also Read: IPL 2023 Qualification Race: How Can Punjab Kings (PBKS) Still Make It To The Playoffs