IPL 2023: RR vs PBKS Head-to-Head Records In IPL

RR vs PBKS Head-to-Head

On April 5, 2023, the eighth game of the Indian Premier League 2023 would take place at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati between the Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Punjab Kings (PBKS).

In the inaugural season of the IPL (2008), the Rajasthan Royals (RR) won the final. They haven’t been able to repeat that accomplishment though. 

The Jos Buttler-led RR did make it to the finals last season, where they were defeated by the Gujarat Titans, a newcomer. However, Punjab Kings, who have yet to win the championship, placed sixth in the standings last year.

Both teams will play each other twice in the forthcoming sixth-eighteenth season of the Indian Premier League: on April 5, 2023, in Guwahati, and on May 19, in a repeat match, in Dharamsala.

Rajasthan Royals

The Rajasthan Royals will enter RR vs PBKS match as a strong team after defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad by a huge margin of 72 runs. The top three SRH bowlers were well outplayed by the top-order batsmen, who all scored fifty-plus scores.

The young wonder Yashasvi Jaiswal, who hit 54 runs from 37 balls, was ably assisted by Jos Buttler, who took the bowlers to task early on with a 20-ball fifty. Then Sanju Samson scored 55 runs to assist the team reach a massive total of 203/5.

Punjab Kings

In their opening match, Punjab Kings took on Kolkata Knight Riders. Prabhsimran Singh, a dependable young player for Punjab Kings, scored 23 runs in 12 balls to get the game going. From there, Bhanuka Rajapaksha took control with a quick-fifty off 32 balls, assisted by skipper Shikhar Dhawan’s 40-run innings.

Rajapaksa was the player that stood out with the bat when he finally reached 50 runs after 23 innings and scored his first run since the Asia Cup finals. They managed to score 191/5 in 20 overs thanks to some solid cameos from middle-order.

RR vs PBKS Head-to-Head record:

The two teams have faced off 24 times, with Rajasthan Royals dominating the match with 14 victories to Punjab Kings’ 10 victories. Four of their last five games saw the Rajasthan Royals come out on top.

Matches Played24
Rajasthan Royals14
Punjab Kings10

List of matches played between RR and PBKS since IPL 2008

DateWinnerWon byVenue
07-May-2022Rajasthan Royals6 WicketsMumbai
21-Sep-2021Rajasthan Royals2 RunsDubai
12-Apr-2021Punjab Kings4 RunsMumbai
30-Oct-2020Rajasthan Royals7 WicketsAbu Dhabi
27-Sep-2020Rajasthan Royals4 WicketsSharjah
16-Apr-2019Punjab Kings12 RunsMohali
25-Mar-2019Punjab Kings14 RunsJaipur
8-May-2018Rajasthan Royals15 RunsJaipur
6-May-2018Punjab Kings6 WicketsIndore
21-Apr-2015Punjab KingsOne-Over EliminatorAhmedabad
10-Apr-2015Rajasthan Royals26 RunsPune
23-May-2014Punjab Kings16 RunsSharjah
20-Apr-2014Punjab Kings7 WicketsMohali
9-May-2013Rajasthan Royals8 WicketsMohali
14-Apr-2013Rajasthan Royals6 WicketsJaipur
5-May-2012Rajasthan Royals43 RunsMohali
6-Apr-2012Rajasthan Royals31 RunsJaipur
21-Apr-2011Punjab Kings48 RunsMohali
7-Apr-2010Rajasthan Royals9 WicketsJaipur
24-Mar-2010Rajasthan Royals31 RunsMohali
05-May-2009Rajasthan Royals78 RunsDurban
26-Apr-2009Punjab Kings27 RunsCape Town
28-May-2008Punjab Kings41 RunsMohali
21-Apr-2008Rajasthan Royals6 WicketsJaipur

Most runs in RR vs PBKS fixtures

Sanju Samson (RR) – 552 runs

Most wickets in RR vs PBKS fixtures

Piyush Chawla (PBKS) – 14 wickets 


Rajasthan Royals Full Squad:

Sanju Samson (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Jos Buttler, Dhruv Jurel, Riyan Parag, Sandeep Sharma, Trent Boult, Obed McCoy, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Sen, Kuldip Yadav, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, KC Cariappa, Jason Holder, Donovan Ferreira, Kunal Rathore, Adam Zampa, KM Asif, Murugan Ashwin, Akash Vashisht, Abdul P A, Joe Root

Punjab Kings Full Squad:

Shikhar Dhawan (c), Shahrukh Khan, Matthew Short, Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma, Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Atharva Taide, Arshdeep Singh, Baltej Singh, Nathan Ellis, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar, Sam Curran, Sikandar Raza, Harpreet Bhatia, Vidwath Kaverappa, Mohit Rathee, Shivam Singh

Also Read: IPL 2023: Virender Sehwag Lashes Out At Prithvi Shaw For Back-To-Back Failures