CSK Team 2020 Players list | Playing 11| CSK Players 2020

CSK Team 2020 Players list | Playing 11| CSK Players 2020

Chennai Super Kings is all set to go on a hunt of their fourth IPL title in the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League that will kick start from September 19. Interestingly, they will open their campaign against Mumbai Indians, who defeated the former in IPL 2019 final. The aforementioned sides share a strong rivalry on the field with some big names in their line-ups. This season Dhoni-led CSK Team will look to come out with all their bases covered.

Dhoni might be playing his final IPL season after he bid adieu to international cricket in August. He is reckoned as the finest skipper in the Indian Premier League, who has helped CSK in qualifying for the playoffs in all the seasons. Now, coming onto IPL 2020, CSK Team has taken some big steps to give a new shape and dimension to the side in their hunt for the coveted trophy. Now, let’s go on a tour of how CSK have reshaped their squad and what can be their playing 11 in IPL 2020.

Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2020 auction

CSK always looks reluctant to keep their spin bowling attack in-tact. The main aim in IPL 2020 auction was to add some firepower in their spin bowling department. Also, they also thought of bringing some reinforcement in the fast bowling department. So, they splashed INR 6.75 Crores on Indian veteran spinner, Piyush Chawla. It was a decision that left everyone in shock. Although Chawla is a tried and tested bowler in IPL. But, he is not a regular face in the Indian domestic circuit. Moreover, there is still a question mark on his fitness as he is getting bulky with every passing year.

The second costly buy was Sam Curran that was roped by CSK after paying a hefty fee of INR 5.50 Crore. Chennai looked in no mood to leave their first preferred players irrespective of the fact that they bought players more than their worth. However, the most surprising pick of all was of Josh Hazelwood, a bowler, who has not played a single T20I for Australia for long. He was picked after paying a fee of INR 2 Crore. Meanwhile, CSK also paid 20 Lakh for Sai Kishore, who impressed with his bowling in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 and Vijay Hazare Trophy. Concluding CSK’s auction, it was a roller coaster ride for every fan following some strange decision taken by Chennai Super Kings.

Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2020

CSK IPL 2020 Player List of released players:

Before heading into IPL 2020 auction, CSK Team released some big names into the IPL market like Mohit Sharma, Sam Billings, David Willey. It was a step taken by Chennai Super Kings keeping a track of their performances in the previous IPL edition. Afterward, some players got buyers and some failed to get a contract during the auction.

Players released list:

  1. Mohit Sharma
  2. Sam Billings
  3. David Willey
  4. Dhruv Shorey
  5. Scott Kuggeleijn
  6. Chaitanya Bishnoi

CSK Players pulled out of IPL 2020:

If any side that has suffered major setbacks before the commencement of IPL 2020 then it is Chennai Super Kings. There two big players Suresh Raina and Harbhajan Singh have pulled out of the cricketing bonanza starting from September 19. They are still due to announce the replacement for Raina and Harbhajan. However, there are speculations that Dawid Malan will ply his traits as a replacement for the Southpaw.

Suresh Raina: The Southpaw is the backbone of CSK’S middle-order since 2008. He has scored 5368 runs off 193 IPL games with a brilliant strike rate of 137.1. As per the reports said, he had a rift with team management in the UAE due to which he had to take such a strange decision.

Harbhajan Singh: The veteran Indian spinner played an important part in CSK’s successful stint till the final. He looked like old Bhajji, who was making batsmen dance on the tune of his spin bowling. He took 16 wickets from 11 games for CSK. After Raina, he also followed the footsteps of his team-mate and pulled out of the Indian Premier League.

CSK Team 2020 Players list

CSK Team 2020 Players list:

Here is the complete CSK Squad 2020

Narayan Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, KM Asif, Ravindra Jadeja, M Vijay, MS Dhoni, Josh Hazlewood, Kedar Jadhav, Harbhajan Singh, Karn Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Ambati Rayudu, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Faf du Plessis, Shardul Thakur, Mitchell Santner, Dwayne Bravo, Lungi Ngidi, Sam Curran, Monu Kumar, Shane Watson, Sai Kishore

Chennai Super Kings Playing 11:

Now, the last and important part of how Chennai Super Kings can be lined up against Mumbai Indians in the tournament opener. There can be some surprising names that will get an opportunity from MS Dhoni to play for CSK in IPL 2020.

CSK has a strong top-order with the likes of Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, and Faf Du Plessis. But there are questions on who will bat at number four for CSK. And, there will be a tough competition between young batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad and Kedhar Jadhav for that spot. MS Dhoni will continue to bat at his usual position followed by Ravindra Jadeja, and Dwayne Bravo.

In the fast bowling attack, they have talented Deepak Chahar, who took 22 wickets in IPL 2019, Shardul Thakur. In spin-bowling, they have the purple cap holder Imran Tahir and new buy Piyush Chawla. Let’s have a check over the Playing 11 of CSK for IPL 2020.

Chennai Super Kings Playing 11, CSK Team 2020:

Wicket-keeper: MS Dhoni

Batsman: Ambati Rayudu, FAF du Plessis, Shane Watson, Ruturaj Gaikwad/Kedhar Jadhav

All-Rounder: Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja

Bowlers: Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Imran Tahir, Piyush Chawla