IPL 2023 Awards: Orange, Purple Cap, Maximum Sixes, Emerging Player Awards, Check Year-wise Winners

IPL 2023 Awards

With a scheduled start time of 7:30 pm IST on March 31, IPL 2023 is set to start.

The defending champion Gujarat Titans (GT) and the four-time IPL champion Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will play in the first game of the 2023 season.

The most lucrative cricket competition in the world, the IPL is held yearly in India.

Every year, the IPL presents players and teams with a number of prizes to honour their accomplishments.

The Orange Cap is given to the player who scored the most runs throughout the season, the Purple Cap is given to the player who took the most wickets.

And the Maximum Sixes award is given to the player who hit the most sixes during the season, and the Emerging Player award

are among the prizes for the IPL 2023. Here is a look at previous winners of these awards as well as a glimpse of the IPL 2023 awards.

IPL 2023 Awards: Orange Cap

The Indian Premier League’s top run scorer receives the IPL 2023 Orange Cap.

The Orange Cap is carried by the player who scored the most runs during the course of the season, with the Orange Cap award being awarded on the day of the IPL 2023 final to the player who scored the most runs overall in the season.

IPL Orange Cap Holder – Last 5 season 

2022Jos Buttler (RR)17863
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK)16635
2020KL Rahul (KXIP)14670
2019David Warner (SRH)12692
2018Kane Williamson (SRH)17735

IPL 2023 Awards: Purple Cap

The Indian Premier League’s Purple Cap awards the player who has taken the most wickets in a single season.

Since the start of the IPL in 2008, this award has been given out continuously, and top bowlers fight against one another for the coveted award.

IPL Purple Cap Holder – Last 5 season 

2022Yuzvendra Chahal (RR)1727
2021Harshal Patel (RCB)1532
2020Kagiso Rabada (DC)1730
2019Imran Tahir (CSK)1726
2018Andrew Tye (KXIP)1424

IPL 2023 Awards: Maximum Sixes 

The players with the most number of sixes in a single season of IPL used to be awarded maximum sixes awards in IPL. 

IPL Maximum Sixes – Last 5 season 

2022Jos Buttler (RR)1645
2021KL Rahul (PBKS)1330
2020Ishan Kishan (MI)1330
2019Andre Russell (KKR)1452
2018Rishabh Pant (DC)1437

IPL 2023 Awards: Emerging Player

The IPL has provided players with the chance to test their abilities against some of the best players in the globe over the years.

The IPL has given the “Emerging Player of the Season” award to the most promising up-and-coming star to encourage aspiring cricketers to rise up and try to be the best of the best.

The award is only given to players who have played fewer than five Tests, 20 ODI, and twenty-five IPL games at the beginning of the season.

IPL Emerging Players – Last 5 season 

2022Umran Malik (SRH)
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK)
2020Devdutt Padikkal (RCB)
2019Shubman Gill (KKR)
2018Rishabh Pant (DC)

Also Read: IPL 2023: From Rohit Sharma To Sanju Samson: Complete List Of Players Who Have Won “Emerging Player” Award In IPL