HomeIPL RecordsTop 3 players with the highest number...

Top 3 players with the highest number of ‘Man of the Match’ awards in IPL


In this article, we are going to talk about 3 Cricketers with most Man of the Match awards in IPL history.

Cricket players usually are awarded the ‘Man of the Match’ award when they show a prolific performance in any given international form of the game. Usually awarded in ODI as well as T20 matches, ‘Man of the Match’ award also remains to be significant during IPL as well.

The Indian Premier League is a popular form of cricket that is enjoyed by millions worldwide. This form of cricket is popular among Indian fans, that displays the skills of the young Indian talents, as well as of the international cricket stars as well.

129 players have been able to receive this award across a span of 12 seasons of this series. This list would discuss the top 3 players who have had the maximum number of ‘Man of the Match’ awards gained in the history of IPL.

3 Players with the most Man of the Match Awards in IPL

1. Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle

This Jamaican international star holds a record of the maximum number of Man of the Match awards ever received in the history of IPL. To date, he has been able to receive 21 awards and seems to continue to do so even more in the future!

He has scored a formidable number of 4,484 runs in IPL history and has played a total of 125 matches to date. With a strike rate of 151.03, Chris Gayle remains to be an influential player for the team as well.

He also holds several other records as well. Most notably, one might remember the day when he scored 175 runs in 66 balls against the Pune Warriors, back in 2013. Gayle has remained to be an influential player for teams such as Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers as well as Kings XI Punjab.

2. AB de Villiers:

AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers is next on the list as the top-scorer of the MOM awards and has received 20 awards to date. The South African international star also has a tally of 4,395 runs scored in 154 IPL matches. With a strike rate of 151.24, he remains to be a force to be reckoned with!

Back in 2015, Villiers smashed 133 runs off 59 balls against the Mumbai Indians. He has scored 33 fifties and 3 centuries in his history of IPL gaming to date.

AB de Villiers has been part of the Delhi Daredevils for the first 3 seasons of the game. Since 2011, he has remained to be an integral part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore team as well.

3. David Warner

Man of the Match David Warner

The third top-scorer who makes it to the list is David Warner with a total of 17 Man of the Match awards received to date. The left-handed batsman has scored 4,706 runs to date and has a whopping strike rate of 142.39. He also holds a significant average of 43.17 as well.

David Warner has scored 4 centuries and 44 fifties in IPL till date. Most of us might remember his exemplary performance against the Kolkata Night Riders back in 2017 when he scored 126 runs off just 59 balls. Scoring a tally of 8 sixes and 10 fours, he was able to propel his team (Sun Riser’s Hyderabad) towards victory, after setting a total of 209 runs made in the match. His team went on to easily win against their opponents by a margin of 48 runs.

He currently holds the record of the most number of runs-scorer in IPL, for an overseas player. He also holds the record of the most number of 50s ever scored in IPL (44) and also the highest run-scorer as a captain as well (126).

David Warner was a part of the Delhi Daredevils for the first 5 seasons of the IPL, but since 2015, has been an integral player for the Sunriser’s Hyderabad. He was secured under the team for a whopping Rs.12 crore, back in 2018.

Share post:

More like this

ISL 2022-23: NorthEast United Sack Head Coach Marco Balbul

The inevitable has unfolded. After a disastrous Indian Super...

PAK vs ENG Dream11 Prediction 2nd Test Team By Expert for Today’s Match, 9th December 2022

Welcome to PAK vs ENG Dream11 Prediction for Today’s Match Fantasy...

Ball Tampering: David Warner’s Manager Claims Players Were Permitted To Ball-Tamper

James Erskine, David Warner's manager, claims that Australia was...
Get Free Team
Sign up to Get Free Team