IPL 2022: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Strongest Predicted Playing 11

Sunrisers Hyderabad Predicted Playing 11

One of the most consistent teams in IPL, Sunrisers Hyderabad had a season to forget last year. For the first time in their IPL history, SRH succumbed to the bottom of the points table. Out of the 14 games played, they could only win only 3. As a result of that dull performance, SRH released some enduring campaigners such as David Warner, Jonny Bairstow, Rashid Khan, and Jason Holder.

They stuck to Kane Williamson who would be leading as captain and also retained the services of Abdul Samad and Umran Malik. In addition to that, they broke their bank to get Nicholas Pooran for a huge sum of INR 10.75 crores. Besides, they spent heavily on the likes of Washington Sundar (Rs 8.75 crore), Rahul Tripathi (Rs 8.5 crore), Romario Shepherd (Rs 7.75 crore), and Abhishek Sharma (Rs 6.5 crore).

Sean Abbott, Glen Phillips, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen are some other overseas names freshly added to the squad. Nicholas Pooran will daunt the wicketkeeping gloves and will add firepower to the squad. Coming to the bowlers, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Shreyas Gopal, Kartik Tyagi, and T. Natarajan form the perfect bowling attack.

They will face Rajasthan Royals in their first match on March 29. Ahead of the clash, let’s have a look at the strongest playing XI of KKR which can make it to the field.

SRH Playing 11

  1. Abhishek Sharma
  2. Rahul Tripathi
  3. Kane Williamson (c)
  4. Aiden Markram
  5. Nicholas Pooran (wk)
  6. Abdul Samad
  7. Romario Shephard
  8. Washington Sundar
  9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  10. T Natarajan
  11. Shreyas Gopal

Openers: Abhishek Sharma and Rahul Tripathi

Sunrisers have four probable openers in the form of Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, and Captain Kane Williamson. But most likely the first two listed above should form the opening duo. Rahul Tripathi already did wonders playing some brilliant knocks for KKR helping them to the finals in the last edition. He would be looking to have a similar impact with the bat with his new franchise. Meanwhile, Abhishek Sharma, who also opens for Punjab in domestic cricket would support him on the other hand. The talented youngster is an attacking batter and can prove to be a valuable asset in the powerplay overs. 

PlayerRunsMatchesStrike Rate
Abhishek Sharma241 22139.31
Rahul Tripathi1385 62136.32

Middle-order: Kane Williamson, Aiden Markram & Nicholas Pooran (WK)

In the middle order, SRH will likely see Kane Williamson at No.3 and followed by the dynamic pair of Aiden Markram and Nicholas Pooran. Williamson shall lead his team from the front and can adapt his game quite well. He can play the role of an anchor with other attacking batters playing beside him. Nicholas Pooran provides a lot of confidence with his recent form in the shorter format. Similarly, Aiden Markham has a lot of potential and the team will have similar expectations from him.

PlayerRunsMatchesStrike Rate
Kane Williamson188563131.27
Aiden Markram1466122.69
Nicholas Pooran60633154.99

Finishers/All-rounders: Abdul Samad, Romario Shephard & Washington Sundar

Abdul Samad was the only Indian player to be retained by the franchise. He alongside Romario Shephard and Washington Sundar provide good firepower. Shepherd though has been a regular in his domestic T20 league back in the Caribbean and holds the reputation of being a nippy fast bowler and a hard-hitter lower down the order. 

PlayerRunsMatchesStrike RateWickets
Abdul Samad22223146.052
Romario Shephard14617155.3114
Washington Sundar21742111.2827

Bowlers: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan & Shreyas Gopal

Coming to their bowling, SRH would be relying on the Indian contingent as we had also seen in their previous years. Bhuvneshwar Kumar shall lead the bowling attack alongside T Natarajan with leggie Shreyas Gopal taking care of the spin-bowling. Gopal is definitely a better option over Kartik Tyagi for spin-friendly pitches. While Bhuvi shall focus on powerplay and death overs T Natarajan shall see his value more for middle overs and death overs. 

Bhuvneshwar Kumar1321427.305/19
T Natarajan24208.242/24
Shreyas Gopal48488.044/16

Sunrisers Hyderabad Full Squad for IPL 2022

Kane Williamson (c), Abdul Samad, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar, Nicholas Pooran, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Priyam Garg, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Karik Tyagi, Shreyas Gopal, Jagadeesha Suchith, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Romario Shepherd, Sean Abbott, R Samarth, Saurabh Dubey, Shashank Singh, Vishnu Vinod, Glenn Philips, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2022 Schedule

DateMatchTime (IST)Venue
March 29, 2022SRH vs RR7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
April 4, 2022SRH vs LSG7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 9, 2022CSK vs SRH3:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 11, 2022SRH vs GT7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 15, 2022SRH vs KKR7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 17, 2022PBKS vs SRH3:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 23, 2022RCB vs SRH7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 27, 2022GT vs SRH7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 1, 2022SRH vs CSK7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
May 5, 2022DC vs SRH7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
May 8, 2022SRH vs RCB3:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 14, 2022KKR vs SRH7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
May 17, 2022MI vs SRH7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 22, 2022SRH vs PBKS7:30 PMWankhede Stadium

Read more:

SRH vs RR Today Match Prediction, Match 5, IPL 2022, 29th March

SRH vs RR Head to Head Record in IPL

Follow Kheltalk for all the latest cricket updates