Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023: Highest Run Scorer, Wicket Taker, Most 100s, All Stats

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023

The Border Gavaskar Trophy is the annual bilateral Test series between two heavyweight teams in the form of India and Australia. The fierce rivalry that is existent between the two sides fuels the players and drives them to give their 120% on the field.

India led by the talismanic Virat Kohli has been winning the Border Gavaskar Trophy for the past 3 editions. Ajinkya Rahane had led India in 3 Test matches in the last series as Virat Kohli had gone for paternal leave.

The stakes are extremely high for this iconic Test series as a place in the World Test Championship (WTC) final beckons. India would be coming in as a favorite as it is being played at home. However, the Rohit Sharma-led side has been marred with a few injury concerns.

Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, and Shreyas Iyer are out of action in this series. Bumrah might stage a comeback in the last 2 Test matches.

The first Test match between India and Australia will be taking place at Nagpur and is slated to begin on 9th February 2023. Delhi, Dharamshala, and Ahmedabad will be playing host to the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Tests respectively.

In this article, we take a look at a few statistics of the Border Gavaskar Trophy that is played between India and Australia:

Most Runs

  1. Sachin Tendulkar (India)- 1821 runs
  2. VVS Laxman (India)- 1198 runs
  3. Matthew Hayden (Australia)- 1027 runs
  4. Rahul Dravid (India)- 1000 runs
  5. Michael Clarke (Australia)- 972 runs

Most Wickets

  1. Harbhajan Singh (India)- 86 wickets
  2. Anil Kumble (India)- 62 wickets
  3. Richie Benaud (Australia)- 52 wickets
  4. Ravichandran Ashwin (India)- 50 wickets
  5. Ravindra Jadeja (India)- 49 wickets

Highest score by an individual batter

281 runs by VVS Laxman (India)- India vs Australia in 2001

Best bowling figures by an individual bowler

9/69 by Jasubhai Motibhai Patel (India)- India vs Australia in 1959



Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.


Pat Cummins (captain), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Also read: IND vs AUS: 3 Reasons Why Virat Kohli Can Get His 1st Test Century Since 2019