ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: South Africa Complete Squad, Captain, Vice-Captain, Schedule

    South Africa T20 World Cup 2023 Squad

    The 15-member South African team has been announced officially for the next ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023, which they will be hosting from February 10 to 26. Sune Luus will serve as the team’s captain.

    Dane Van Niekerk was not selected for the South Africa team for the current tri-series match against India and the West Indies because she could not satisfy the eligibility requirement of meeting the national benchmark standards. Her inclusion in the national team’s T20 World Cup squad was also wiped out as a result of the failed fitness test.

    The 29-year-old last represented his country in national colors in September 2021. Last year, a terrible leg injury kept her out of play, preventing Dane from competing in the Women’s ODI World Cup in New Zealand.

    Marizanne Kapp, Dane’s partner, is one of the team’s most seasoned and important players. Lara Goodall, Chloe Tryon, Laura Wolvaardt, Ayabonga Khaka, and Shabnim Ismail, to name a few, are other key members of this T20 world cup team.

    The Proteas side appears to be very good on paper despite the absence of legendary captain Dane Van Niekerk and would be expected to put on excellent on-field performances by relying on home advantage. Since Lizelle Lee left the international stage in July of last year, one of the major issues surrounding the tournament’s hosts will be who enters the field to bat first alongside Laura Wolvaardt.

    On February 10 in Cape Town, South Africa takes on Sri Lanka in the tournament opener. They then play Bangladesh on February 21 before playing New Zealand and Australia on February 13 and February 18, respectively. Know the complete details on the South African squad of the Women’s T20 world cup 2023. 

    ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: South Africa squad 

    Annerie Dercksen, Marizanne Kapp, Lara Goodall, Ayabonga Khaka, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Shabnim Ismail, Tazmin Brits, Masabata Klaas, Laura Wolvaardt, Sinalo Jafta, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Sune Luus (c), Anneke Bosch, Delmi Tucker.

    Non-traveling reserves: Micaéla Andrews, Tebogo Macheke, Tumi Sekhukhune.

    ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: South Africa Complete Schedule

    DateMatch DetailsVenueTime
    Feb 10, FriSouth Africa Women vs Sri Lanka Women, 1st Match, Group ANewlands, Cape Town10:30 PM
    Feb 13, MonSouth Africa Women vs New Zealand Women, 7th Match, Group ABoland Park, Paarl10:30 PM
    Feb 18, SatSouth Africa Women vs Australia Women, 15th Match, Group ASt George’s Park, Gqeberha10:30 PM
    Feb 21, TueSouth Africa Women vs Bangladesh Women, 20th Match, Group ANewlands, Cape Town10:30 PM

    Also Read: Women’s U19 T20 World Cup 2023: 5-Star Performers In The Tournament