HomeBreaking NewsWorld Test Championship 2023: India Qualifies For...

World Test Championship 2023: India Qualifies For WTC Final At Oval


As a result of Sri Lanka’s defeat in the first Test of their two-match series with New Zealand, it is now confirmed that Australia and India will compete for the 2023 World Test Championship Final.

The outcome in Ahmedabad won’t affect India and Australia’s hopes to participate in the 2021/23 Test cycle final this summer, even if they are still playing on the penultimate day of the four-match Test series and the hosts are ahead 2-1.

The other side competing for a position in the WTC final, Sri Lanka, lost its first Test match to New Zealand by two wickets, giving India the advantage due to their higher points percentage (PCT). Sri Lanka had to defeat New Zealand 2-0 in the two-match Test series in order to advance because an outright victory for India in the Ahmedabad Test looked doubtful. 

In Christchurch, though, rain cancelled the entire session as it tried to hold off the Kiwis’ 284 runs. The home team won in an exciting contest because of Kane Williamson’s perfect century (121). As a result, India and Australia will square off in the WTC championship game.

When will India vs Australia WTC final be held?

India will compete in its second WTC final after coming in second place to New Zealand in the previous cycle. Nine days after the IPL 2023 final in India, it will compete against Australia in the WTC final from June 7–11.

Where will the IND vs AUS WTC Test Championship final be played?

India and Australia will face off in the ICC World Test Championship final at London’s The Oval.

How did India qualify for WTC 2023? 

With a 68.51 PCT following that last result, Australia had already guaranteed their spot in the championship game following their nine-wicket victory in the Indore Test last week. India’s PCT suffered as a result of the Indore outcome, falling from 64.06 to 60.29 in the final score. 

India needed to win the series 4-0 or 3-1 in order to avoid relying on Sri Lanka to go to the final, but New Zealand helped them out.

It will be India’s second consecutive qualification for the summit match after they faced off against New Zealand in the 2019–21 cycle and lost to the Black Caps by an eight-wicket margin. On the other hand, Australia had previously missed out on a final position by a difference of 0.8 points to its Trans-Tasman rivals.

World Test Championship (2021-23) Points Table

1Australia (Q)181134014868.52
2India (Q)171052012360.29
3South Africa1054106453.33
4Sri Lanka1476108852.38
7West Indies1246205437.5
8New Zealand1126303627.27

Also Read: IND vs AUS ODI: 3 Players Who Can Replace Injured Shreyas Iyer

Share post:

More like this

Call Of Duty Modern Warfare 2 & Warzone 2 Shredder Operator Bundle Details, Price

In Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (MW2) and...

PUBG Mobile C4S11 All Rewards, End Date, Details

With the debut of new seasons that feature new...

IPL 2023: 3 Reasons Why MS Dhoni Might Have A Stellar Final Season

Whenever MS Dhoni hangs up his boots from the...

UP-W vs DEL-W Dream11 Prediction, Top Fantasy Picks, Player Availability News, WPL 2023, 21 March 2023

Welcome to UP-W vs DEL-W Dream11 Prediction for Today’s...
Get Free Team
Sign up to Get Free Team