WPL 2023: 3 Reasons Why Harmanpreet Kaur-led Mumbai Indians Can Win Inaugural WPL Season

MI WPL 2023 Trophy

The Mumbai Indians, led by Harmanpreet Kaur, are one of the clear favourites to win the Women’s Premier League (WPL) title. The MI side cost Rs. 912.99 crores, which is the second-highest price during WPL 2023.

Mumbai Indians put up a strong performance at the player auction for the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 season. They put together a strong team that included numerous players who had excelled on the T20 circuit.

The Mumbai franchise enjoyed the benefits of a strong start to the year, defeating Gujarat Giants handily by 143 runs in the opening game of the competition.

Afterward, in the second Women’s Premier League encounter, Mumbai Indians defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by a margin of nine wickets.

Mumbai has the potential to win the championship under the leadership of Harmanpreet Kaur. Check the top 3 reasons why Mumbai Indians can win WPL 2023 title. 

A powerhouse batting order

Even the best bowling assaults can’t stand a chance against Mumbai Indians’ potent batting order. Mumbai’s leadership is bolstered by the presence of Yastika Bhatia and Hayley Matthews.

The two hitters are noted for putting on a show of their flamboyant stroke play and exerting pressure on the opposition. Mumbai’s Nat Sciver-Brunt, who can play either an aggregator or a destroyer depending on the situation. 

A top-class all-rounder in the squad 

Mumbai Indians have world-class all-rounders in the lineup, including Amelia Kerr of New Zealand and Hayley Matthews of the West Indies, who have long been the backbone of their respective national teams.

They also have Chloe Tryon from South Africa and Nat Sciver-Brunt from England, both of whom can contribute with the ball if necessary.

The team also features players that have the ability to win the match by themselves on any given day. Harmanpreet, the Indian captain, is renowned for her ability to hit the ball hard and far.

MI players are in great form 

Hayley Matthews, a West Indies all-rounder, scooped up where she left off in the first game. Shafali Verma was passed by her to take the top spot in the Orange Cap rankings.

The right-handed batter hit her first fifty of the season, went on to score an unbeaten 77 runs, and now has 124 runs in her career.

Saika Ishaque, an uncapped spinner for MI, won the coveted purple cap, which is now in the possession of another MI player. The 27-year-old Indian player has been the tournament’s best discovery, surpassing both Tara Norris and Kim Garth to capture the top spot on the list of players with the most wickets taken.

WPL 2023: Mumbai Indians Full Squad

Dhara Gujjar, Saika Ishaque, Sonam Yadav, Yastika Bhatia, Priyanka Bala, Harmanpreet Kaur, Nat Sciver, Pooja Vastrakar, Amelia Kerr, Heather Graham, Amanjot Kaur, Hayley Matthews, Chloe Tryon, Humairaa Kaazi, Jintimani Kalita, Neelam Bisht, Isabelle Wong

Also Read: IPL 2023 Rule Change: After WPL, Players Can Review For Wides & No-balls In IPL Using DRS, Details Here