From Diego Mauricio To Bartholomew Ogbeche: A Look At The Top Scorers Of ISL 2022-23 So Far

Diego Mauricio Odisha FC

The Indian Super League (ISL) 2022-23 has witnessed some stunning goals from some exceptional goal-makers. A few unbelievable goals too have transpired in ISL 2022-23 from the teams.

Whoever scores the maximum number of goals in an ISL season, gets the Golden Boot award. Hyderabad FC striker Bartholomew Ogbeche received the Golden Boot Award last season for scoring 19 goals in 23 games.

The Nigerian forward was one of the main reasons why the Nizams laid their hands on the prestigious ISL 2022-23 trophy.

In this article, we take a look at the top-scorers of the Indian Super League (ISL) 2022-23 season:

1. Diego Mauricio (Odisha FC)

Diego Mauricio
Diego Mauricio

Diego Mauricio has been the cynosure of all eyes in ISL 2022-23. He had scored 12 goals in ISL 2022-23 and presently is the joint top-scorer of ISL 2022-23, alongside Cleiton Silva. The pace, accuracy and ability to dribble past opposition defenders with his mazy runs has been the standout features of the Brazilian forward.

However, Mauricio will not be able to score more goals in ISL 2022-23 as Odisha FC are knocked out of the tournament. Odisha FC was playing their first playoffs but their hopes of progressing further into the tournament were crushed by ATK Mohun Bagan in the 2nd knockout game.

 The score-line of the game read 2-0 in favour of the Mariners.

2. Cleiton Silva (East Bengal FC)

Cleiton Silva
Cleiton Silva

It is safe to say that Cleiton Silva was the backbone of the East Bengal FC team. The Brazilian maverick scored 12 goals of the 22 goals which the Red and Gold Brigade scored in ISL 2022-23. This clearly indicates what a big impact the 36-year-old forward had on the team.

2 of the other players in East Bengal FC who were next on the list were V.P. Suhair and Naorem Mahesh Singh, with 2 goals under their belt. This clearly shows the gulf in the side.

3. Jorge Pereyra Diaz (Mumbai City FC)

Jorge Pereyra Diaz
Jorge Pereyra Diaz

One of the main reasons why Mumbai City FC won the ISL League Shield was the fact that Jorge Pereyra Diaz was in top-notch form. He has so far scored 11 goals in 18 games and is the front-runner to win the Golden Boot award

This is because both Cleiton Silva and Diego Mauricio who are above Diaz, are out of the tournament.

4. Iker Guarrotxena (FC Goa)

Iker Guarrotxena
Iker Guarrotxena

Along-with Noah Sadaoui, Iker Guarrotxena carried the hopes of the Gaurs. Even though FC Goa couldn’t qualify for the playoffs in ISL 2022-23, Iker Guarrotxena was quite impressive with his stupendous footballing prowess.

Guarrotxena had netted 11 goals in ISL 2022-23.

5. Bartholomew Ogbeche (Hyderabad FC)

Bartholomew Ogbeche
Bartholomew Ogbeche

If Bartholomew Ogbeche wins the Golden Boot Award this season, he will be the first player to successfully defend his Golden Boot Award. Since Hyderabad FC can play 3 more games at max (including finals), the Nigerian forward would be fancying his chances.

Age isn’t a factor to judge his performances as even at the age of 38, Ogbeche has been the leading goal-scorer of Hyderabad FC. He has so far notched up 10 goals in ISL 2022-23.

Also read: ISL 2022-23: Semi Finals Schedule, Teams, Live Streaming Details