ISL 2022-23: ATK Mohun Bagan Crowned Champions After Narrow Win Over Bengaluru FC

ATKMB champions ISL 2022-23

The action of this high-voltage finals of the Indian Super League (ISL) 2022-23

once again boiled down to the penalties. Anyone with a heart problem had it very difficult to watch Indian football in the last week or so. ISL 2022-23 has had a fitting end!

With ATK Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC slotted against each other in the finals, it was always going to involve drama, excitement and action. After being 2-2 post normal and extra-time, the stage was all set for yet another penalty round.

While Dimitri Petratos scored a penalty in the 14th minute of the game itself, the legendary Sunil Chhetri brought the game into an even position with yet another penalty in the 45(+5) minute of the game.

The half-time score read 1-1 and the match was gearing towards quite an exciting one. Roy Krishna scored a good header and made Bengaluru FC have the lead in the 78nd match of the game.

But the ebbs and flows in the game kept coming as Dimitri Petratos scored yet another penalty in the 85th minute. The Mariners displayed a lot of resilience and made sure that they are back in the game.

The game then went into the penalties after no goal was scored during the extra time. As history saw it, both the semi-finals saw penalties as well. This time, ATK Mohun Bagan held their nerves a little tighter than the Blues.

Vishal Kaith of ATK Mohun Bagan stood tall and acted as a wall as he prevented two goals from the spot for Bengaluru FC. On the other hand, no one missed from Juan Ferrando’s side.

Thereby, ATK Mohun Bagan were crowned as the champions of ISL 2022-23 and they ended Bengaluru FC’s dream run in 2023.


Bengaluru FC

Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Lara Sharma, Amrit Gope, Alan Costa, Namgyal Bhutia, Parag Shrivas, Wungngayam Muirang, Prabir Das, Hira Mondal, Sandesh Jhingan, Aleksandar Jovanovic, Bruno Ramires, Jayesh Rane, Suresh Wangjam, Danish Farooq, Rohit Kumar, Biswa Darjee, Javi Hernandez, Sunil Chhetri, Prince Ibara, Udanta Singh, Sivasakthi Narayanan, Leon Augustine, Roy Krishna, Faisal Ali.

ATK Mohun Bagan

Arsh Anwer, Vishal Kaith, Arsh Shaikh, Avilash Paul, Carl McHugh, Manvir Singh Brendan Hamill, Sumit Rathi, Slavko Damjanovic, Subhashish Bose, Asish Rai, Ashutosh Mehta, Pritam Kotal, Deepak Tangri, Lalrinliana Hnamte, Pronay Halder, Dimitri Petratos, Ashique Kuruniyan, Lalthathanga Khawlhring, Federico Gallego Kiyan Nassiri, Manvir Singh, Liston Colaco, Glan Martins, Md Fardin Ali, Hugo Boumous

Also read: ISL 2022-23: Market Value Of Bengaluru FC, Most Valuable Players, Squad & Stats