ISL 2022-23: Bengaluru FC March To Finals After Thrilling Penalty Win Against Mumbai City FC

Gurpreet Singh Sandhu

All the heart patients had an extremely tough time watching the Indian Super League (ISL) 2022-23 semi-final 1 leg 2 game, yesterday. Bengaluru FC edged past ISL League Shield Winners Mumbai City FC on penalties to cruise to the finals.

A total of 17 goals later, Mumbai City FC crashed out in the penalty round. It had to be one of the most enthralling and pulsating ISL semi-finals ever. Bengaluru FC had won the 1st leg, 1-0.

The end-to-end match started with a goal from Bengaluru FC at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru. 21-year-old Sivasakthi Narayanan whipped in a cross from the left flank to Javi Hernandez, who headed it to a goal. The hosts had taken the lead in the game.

But the ebbs and flows in the game started surfacing as in the 30th minute, Bipin Singh netted the equaliser for the away team. It was 2-1 in favour of Bengaluru FC on aggregate.

Gurpreet Singh Sandhu saved a shot from Rowlin Borges but the deflection went straight into the trajectory of Bipin Singh, who smashed it into the goal. Mumbai City FC were brimming with confidence and momentum post that goal.

Mehtab Singh scored the equaliser in terms of aggregate for Mumbai in the 66th minute. A corner header meant that Mumbai City FC crawled back into the game.

The match then went into the extra time and there was nothing to separate the two teams during the extra-time. It went right down to the wire. It went right down to the penalties.

However unfortunate it might sound, it was Mehtab Singh who failed to score for the second time in the penalties. And Mumbai City FC crashed out of ISL on a heart-breaking note.

On the other hand, it was jubilation and ecstasy for Bengaluru FC. All the players went wild in their celebrations as they had won it in front of their home crowd.

Simon Grayson’s men have thereby registered their 11th victory on the trot in ISL 2022-23. The Durand Cup 2022 winners will now be facing either of ATK Mohun Bagan or Hyderabad FC in the finals.


Mumbai City FC

Phurba Lachenpa, Mohammad Nawaz, Ravi Kumar, Vikram Lakhbir Singh, Rahul Bheke, Amey Ranawade, Mehtab Singh, Mohamad Rakip, Vignesh Dakshinamurthy, Mourtada Fall, Valpuia, Mandar Rao Desa, Gyamar Nikum, Cassio Gabriel, Bradden Inman, Ahmed Jahouh, Raynier Fernandes, Vinit Rai, Naorem Tndomba Singh, Chanso Horam, Asif Khan, Apuia Ralte, Gyamar Nikum, Vikram Partap Singh, Igor Angulo, Pranjal Bhumij, Bipin Singh, Greg Stewart, Lallianzuala Chhangte.

Bengaluru FC

Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Lara Sharma, Amrit Gope, Alan Costa, Namgyal Bhutia, Parag Shrivas, Wungngayam Muirang, Prabir Das, Hira Mondal, Sandesh Jhingan, Aleksandar Jovanovic, Bruno Ramires, Jayesh Rane, Suresh Wangjam, Danish Farooq, Rohit Kumar, Biswa Darjee, Javi Hernandez, Sunil Chhetri, Prince Ibara, Udanta Singh, Sivasakthi Narayanan, Leon Augustine, Roy Krishna, Faisal Ali.

Also read: ISL 2022-23: 3 Reasons Why Bengaluru FC Can Win The ISL